The Time I Ran a 6-Minute Mile at 200 Pounds

The unofficial mark of a ‘fast’ runner

Devin Arrigo
Runner's Life

--

I’m not a good runner.

While I have played sports my entire life, running has never been the sole focus of my training. I used it as a way to complement my normal practice/training schedules for basketball and lacrosse. It was a way to get better, faster, and stronger — ultimately to perform when the game was on the line.

However, when my team sports career came to an abrupt end, I was forced to find a new outlet. Sure, I wasn’t great at it, but I already had a little experience with running. And it was a great way to keep my competitive spirit alive.

First, it was a 5k. Then a half marathon. Then eventually a marathon.

The races I ran were great and I really enjoyed them. But what really got me going was competing against myself. Setting new PR’s and crushing longer, and longer distances.

The process of setting lofty goals and working towards them was addicting.

And once I accomplished those races (over the course of a couple of years), I needed a new goal. Something I could work towards. Something that I’ve always wanted to accomplish.

--

--

Devin Arrigo
Runner's Life

200K+ views 🚀 | Marathon runner | Triathlete | Personal Growth Addict 🧠 | Free mindset + fitness ebook 👉🏻 devinarrigo.com/freeguide