The Triumph That Was the 2013 London Marathon

And not just because I beat an Olympic medalist and a former European champion (although I did)

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
Runner's Life
Published in
6 min readAug 24, 2024

--

Crowds of runners at the London Marathon
London is crowded for miles and miles after the start — Wikimedia Commons

On April 7, 2013, I ran the Zurich Marathon for the 11th time. That was already a big deal because it meant I passed the 10th anniversary and convinced myself to keep going.*

Even more important to me that year was the London Marathon, which I was scheduled to run just two weeks later on April 21. The race in London turned out to be critical to the running community and the broader world in ways none of us could have expected.

This is the story of why and what happened to make the 2013 London Marathon so special.

Marathon maniacs … and everyone else

Some of you reading might be familiar with the Marathon Maniacs. The most basic level of entry to this club is gained by running two marathons within sixteen days of one another.

By the time of the 2013 London Marathon, I was already a proud member of the club, having run the 2009 Boston and Zurich marathons just six days apart.

The reason for the insanity in both years was the same: I had set myself the goal of running the Zurich Marathon every year and then hit upon the idea of also…

--

--

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
Runner's Life

Mechanic of the human soul. I channel Seneca and Machiavelli at predictable intervals (now weekly)