These Hills I Run Have Eyes

How I programmed my body and mind to stop dropping like a fly when running uphill

Blake Shields
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Derek Torsani on Unsplash

New cuss words were invented as the elevation continued to rise.

I was running a local 5K downtown and despite rigorously studying and examining the course map, I was in for a shock as to how many of these narrow roads went up in altitude.

I wasn’t ready. My training program consisted of level running. It was a lesson learned, and I left that race making a promise to myself.

I’m going to own the hills. I’m going to be ready next time.

Every running route I traveled on the following weeks and months was going to have hills. And every time I gasped for air and grunted, I could feel the hills taunting me. Watching me. Waiting for me to collapse.

But I kept running. I kept improving.

I never forgot about that 5K and made the decision to become one with the hills.

Photo by Podu Stricat on Unsplash

I drive over a mountain to work every day. My jeep shifts gears as it continues to drive upwards, as well as when decelerating.

--

--

Blake Shields
Runner's Life

Runner. Inquisitive writer. Alcohol free since 2023.