Three Ways I Injury-Proofed My Running

No secrets or hacks

Nicole Linke
Runner's Life

--

According to The Sports Injury Bulletin, 70–80% of runners get injured every year. I used to be one of them.

When I started running in 2006, I needed to take a break after six months. I developed a sharp pain in my knee that made even walking difficult. Because I was about to leave South Africa in a few days, I didn’t bother having it checked by a doctor.

In the years that followed, I was experiencing niggles rather frequently, and I could never complete a full year of running without needing extended breaks due to injury. After a hiatus, I returned this year, raced two ultra-marathons successfully, and haven’t been injured once.

What has changed? I will tell you in this article.

However, before I tell you what those factors are, I need to state that I believe my body has become resilient due to all of these three things combined.

Too often, one intervention is touted as a “miracle cure” for running injuries. However, I believe more than one factor is responsible for our resilience and anti-fragility.

1. Eating Meat Again After Four Years of Veganism

My running journey coincided with my start of a vegan diet in 2006. Just a few months…

--

--

Nicole Linke
Runner's Life

I talk about developing strength in body and mind. | Ultrarunner | Ultrarunning Coach | Newsletter: https://nicolelinke.com/newsletter-sign-up/