To Succeed as a Runner, Figure Out a Plan and Go

Just remember to commit

Jordan Ilyas
Runner's Life
5 min readAug 10, 2020

--

Photo by Matthew LeJune on Unsplash

For many, following strict training regimes can be the be-all and end-all of success within running. It can prove quite daunting to have 12 or so weeks of running laid out in front of you. Whether your goal is to run certain times, run a specific distance, or for a duration, strict training plans aren’t always necessary. The focus has always got to be to just get out and run.

I participated a lot in running when I was younger and peaked at a half-marathon at 17 years old, but I stopped around 18 years old, completely losing touch with it. The idea of hitting the road again was swiftly quashed knowing my performance was not going to be near what it used to be. However, once I removed any expectations of myself, the running became easy, sometimes forgetting speed or distance is the most beneficial and encouraging thing you can do. You are, after all, running for yourself and no one else.

Over the last few months, I have been running between 5–6 times per week, and in that time naturally, both my speed and endurance has improved dramatically. Mainly just from being consistent with the number of runs I am doing per week. The key to this has been a variety of different runs, usually built into a daily schedule based on how I’m feeling. The only strict plan I think necessary for running is to decide how often you’re going to run every week.

Therefore, I keep my approach pretty simple and therefore my perspective of what it takes to improve consists of a pick ’n’ mix of these runs:

Intervals

Intervals are great for focusing on speed and maximum output for however long you decide to do them for. I usually do intervals of 500–1000m as fast as possible with a slow walk to recover before going again, doing as many or as little as necessary so long as my heart rate is high, and I’m huffing and puffing by the end of it.

Fartlek

Speedrunning. Another good way to view fartlek is as if you’re a kid again, full of energy and moving non-stop. Sprinting, walking, jogging, walking, sprinting, and so on.

Along with interval training, fartlek is one I find most challenging due to the grueling nature of it and the constant change of pace. Nonetheless, it helps build both speed and endurance, getting your average pace that bit faster when it matters.

Race Pace

Most weeks, I attempt around four or five kilometers as fast as possible, mainly as I’m always keen on making progress. It also puts the two above methods into practice and keeps your body used to exerting maximum effort for a sustained amount of time, as well as challenging your mindset.

Importantly, if I don’t hit a time as fast as I’d like, it’s no biggie. Try again next week. I wouldn’t be able to maintain a fast run for longer than a 5km so best not to think of going above this distance for the time being.

30 Minute Runs

This one can be as taxing or easy as I like. The main focus is to maintain a consistent pace for at least 30 minutes. If on the day my body feels like this needs to be done at a slower pace then fine, alternatively, if I feel good enough to try and get as far as possible in 30 minutes, then great.

Ultimately this run is just about hitting the road for 30 minutes at whatever pace no matter how you feel.

The Long One

Serious road or endurance runners probably don’t consider 10km long-distance, but given that I run between 4–7km most runs, it seems a long enough distance to me. I like to do a long-distance (10km+) run once-per-week, and it always wraps up my week of running.

Again, I won’t always focus on speed or anything on the longer runs, mainly aiming to keep it as consistent as I can. It doesn’t always work out, but as a regular runner, I believe it’s essential to get the longer miles in.

The main benefit I get out of these runs is the mental strength you can develop due to the mind games you have with yourself. Whether it’s burning lungs or legs that feel like lead, there’s always something trying to encourage you to stop.

The only thing I have to do is keep going.

I have always found running as much a mental game as a physical one, especially with long distances. The sooner you can learn to challenge the doubt and negative talk, the more natural they get, and the stronger your mind gets.

(Hill runs also help but they hurt a lot!)

I’m not a competitive runner, so this approach probably wouldn’t benefit people in forms of competition. But if your main focus is competing against yourself then perhaps pick one of the above, or a selection of them each week and hit the road. Varying the types of runs you do will guarantee development and hopefully, enjoyment.

In this time of mixing up different types of runs, I have managed to beat a seven-year PB of mine in the 5k, increased my average speed drastically, built my distance up to 15km on the longer runs and worked up to running 5+ days a week after a 5-year hiatus in hitting the pavement, along with a pretty unhealthy lifestyle.

Most importantly, the variety has helped me get back my enjoyment for running, empowered me to challenge myself regularly, and helped me overcome bad habits.

Photo by Pietro Rampazzo on Unsplash

Final Thoughts

The key to getting into running is to drop any pre-existing expectation you have of it.

Starting is always the hardest part, and it takes a good few weeks to get through the difficulty at the beginning as you start to improve. You don’t need any specific plans, just a commitment each week, and you’ll see the improvements.

Once you see the improvements, the enjoyment will follow. And when you enjoy it ….

Nothing will stop you.

--

--

Jordan Ilyas
Runner's Life

Fan of journaling and aiming to develop ideas in to short pieces to share... eventually