Run Long, Run Healthy — May 2, 2024

Train Less, Run Faster (Yes, You CAN); Be Younger Than Your Birthdays; Lessons From 6-Day Runners

PLUS: Shorter strides = fewer injuries; 10 ways to beat pre-race nerves; How to control pelvic floor issues; Why soldiers need “super boots”

Amby Burfoot
Runner's Life
Published in
10 min readMay 2, 2024

--

Be younger than your birthdays. Created with Adobe Firefly.

Train Less And Run Faster (Yes, It IS Possible)

I first met Bill Pierce, Scott Murr, and Ray Moss almost 20 years ago. I had heard about their Furman Institute of Running & Scientific Training (FIRST), which claimed that you could “Run Less, Run Faster.”

Of course, I was skeptical. That’s my nature. So I traveled to Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina, to check them out. We did several workouts together during my visit.

I learned they were serious, reasonable runners (with advanced academic credentials). Also, the workouts were hard! No wonder their runners often improved by running less. Because they were running faster in training.

I wrote then that the Furman program was “the most detailed, well-organized, and scientific training programs for runners that I have ever seen.” When Pierce and Murr wrote a book about the…

--

--

Amby Burfoot
Runner's Life

I am the 1968 Boston Marathon winner, former editor of Runner's World Magazine, book author, and editor of the weekly newsletter, "Run Long, Run Healthy."