What Every Runner Should Know Before Buying New Shoes — Even If You “Know What You Want”

Katie Pesek
Runner's Life
Published in
5 min readMay 14, 2020
Photo by Isaac Wendland on Unsplash

Running is a sport that requires little to no equipment other than a dang good pair of shoes. Before I began working at a local run specialty store in the Phoenix area, I was clueless to the world of running shoes. I would re-buy the same pair of Brooks Ravena, and never thought twice about what I needed from a shoe or trying something new. When I started working in a run specialty store, I got to try 50+ pairs of shoes and understand how each pair is perfect for our different running needs.

Today we will cover the basics of what you need to know before you buy your first pair of running shoes or re-purchase the same pair for the 100th time.

Have a Realistic Price Range

A good pair of running shoes will cost between $110 and $170, with different types of shoes fitting in a different price category. If this price point seems too steep, no worries! Shoes update every month making it easy to find a bargain on a high priced shoe.

It is very important to know if you are buying the “budget” shoes, usually around the $40 to $80 price range, they may have some issues. You could get injured easily, and they will only last you MAYBE 100 miles. By comparison, a $160 pair of shoes can last you 400–600 miles.

If you’re just trying out running for a few weeks and not ready to commit to a higher-end shoe, then go ahead and use a pair of sneakers you already own. Remember, even if you buy a nice pair of shoes and end up not running much, you now have an amazing gym or walking shoe that can easily last a year or more.

Know What You Want Out Of A Shoe

One of the most frustrating parts about fitting someone for running shoes is when they have no clue what they want in a shoe. Before going in for a fitting ask yourself 3 questions:

  1. How often will I be using these shoes?

Before headlining into your local run specialty store, have an idea of how many days a week, and how many miles you plan to be running. I had no idea the shoe I used to love was not a great shoe for the high mileage I was doing. I would run my shoes into the ground and ended up getting stress fractures because of it!

Knowing what kind of mileage you plan on doing helps run specialty employees direct you to the perfect pair of shoes. If I had asked more questions I would have been able to get into a more durable shoe or at least understand the shoes I was using needed to be replaced more often.

2. How do I want my shoes to feel?

Each brand uses different kinds of foam giving their cushion a slightly different feel. The analogy I always use with customers is some shoes are marshmallows and some are gummy bears.

If you’ve ever heard of the brand Hoka, you’ll know they are a super soft shoe that feels like walking on a cloud. This puts Hoka in the mega marshmallow category. On the other end of the spectrum, there are brands like Asics which feel firm, putting them in the gummy bear category.

You won’t know what type of cushion you like until you try a few shoes on, but keep this in mind while you’re shopping. If I notice a customer leaning toward a softer shoe, I can pull other shoes and brands that offer the same feel and vice versa.

3. What am I going to use these shoes for?

Are you training for a marathon? Are you looking for a shoe to use during shorter, fast-paced workouts/runs? Are you looking for a good shoe for orange theory or to use in the gym and on the treadmill/roads?

It is very important to know what you plan on doing in your new shoes! The last thing a run specialty employee wants is to fit you in a pair of shoes you hate or can’t use for your intended workouts.

Have More Than One Go-To Shoe And Brand

Like I said before, I used to be guilty of buying the same pair of shoes over, and over again for the first 4–5 years of my running journey. When I started opening up to shoes outside of Brooks, my running became a lot more FUN! I started trying out different shoes and getting

Another huge reason you should have more than one go-to shoe is that every year shoes update! Brands are constantly changing shoes to have a slightly different fit and feel. Unfortunately, this means that one year you may hate the shoe update, and won’t enjoy running it. In this case, if you have another favorite shoe you won’t be as devastated and can still run in shoes you love!

Having multiple shoes I can run in also helps me find a good bargain. Because I like so many different shoes there’s a higher chance that one of them might go on sale when I need a new pair.

Bonus: Have A Good Pair Of Socks

I know running socks can be a bit pricey and it seems absurd to pay $10 or more for a SINGLE pair of socks but, it’s worth it. If you are prone to getting blisters, first make sure your shoes are not too tight or big, a nice pair of running socks can help! Plus, I’ve never had to replace a pair of running socks yet and some of mine are 5+ years old. Every time I buy a new pair of shoes or if they’re running a deal, I’ll grab a new pair of socks! Over time I built a nice collection of fancy socks and my feet are much happier because of it.

Give this article a clap if you would like me to go more in-depth on different brands to give you a better idea of what shoes you might want to try out!

Follow Runner’s Life for more stories of the shared running experience and tips to help you reach your goals!

--

--

Katie Pesek
Runner's Life

Sports Dietitian in the making. Writing about all things post grad, running, health & nutrition, and the human experience.