What I Learned Running 10 Miles A Day

Noah Rocklin
Runner's Life
Published in
3 min readNov 19, 2020

The good, the bad, and why everyone should push their limits once in a while

Image by 272447 from Pixabay

I’m sure everyone by now is familiar with David Goggins, former Navy SEAL turned ultra-marathoner. It’s impossible to escape his presence on social media, from motivational Facebook videos to Instagram reels featuring him trudging along running shirtless, reminding us to get after it.

So when my cross-country running coach encouraged us to increase our mileage going into the fall, I channeled my inner Goggins and committed to hitting at least 100 kilometres (62.14 miles) in a week, the first time in 5 years of running I had attempted the distance.

The plan

I divided my week into 6 days of running, split between 4 days of easy runs, one track workout, and one weekend long run, averaging roughly 17 kilometres a day. Now, I’m not advocating for everyone to shoot for this distance, as it can be a hefty challenge for even the more experienced runners (and potential injury if you’re not accustomed to it). However, aiming for what you once perceived as unattainable can bring a lot of value for a runner, both physically and mentally, whatever that goal may be for you.

The value of running twice a day

No matter how much you run, some days are just harder to lace up your shoes and get outside, especially for an hour and a half on a rainy Tuesday morning. So when I came across this article detailing the benefits of splitting up your daily run in two, the idea of running double no longer seemed as daunting as it sounds. Starting and ending the day with a run not only helped reach my mileage more easily but also served as a way to keep a consistent routine in my daily activities too. Even running for 30 minutes each in the morning and evening can make an hour-long run suddenly become two easy jogs.

Time is all about how you use it

A lot of the time, it can be (and may have been) easy to dismiss time running as a necessary time in the day to get some distance in. As much as I love to get outside and hit the road, doing it so frequently can quickly become tiring or draining. One tool that made it much more enjoyable was capitalizing on my time during runs. They quickly became one of my most anticipated times during my day to completely tune out the noise in favor of something that really made it worthwhile. Whether it was listening to an engaging podcast, enjoying the cityscape to some music, or having a good conversation with a running buddy or on the phone, using runs as personal time can have profound advantages for your mind and body at the same time.

Keeping the fire lit and remembering your “why”

With no races, competitions or even group runs in sight for the foreseeable future, staying consistent and motivated to continue running can be awfully challenging at these times. On the flip side, even more people are beginning to run during the pandemic. This points to the fact that having an intrinsic reason to run can sustain us and give us hope. Continuing our activities can give us something to look forward to when this is over, and we come out stronger and better than before. Attaching the label of “runner” to one’s identity can keep us accountable in our habits and also re-establish our “why”. Runners just run, whether it be for proving your potential to yourself or for the Strava kudos (no wrong answer).

Takeaways

I took a moment as I finished my last run on Sunday evening to just sit in the feeling after logging the last few of 110 kilometres throughout the week. Challenging your perception of your own capabilities as a runner is an important step when it comes to completing your goal, no matter where you are in your journey. Between setting a new personal best, completing a distance for the first time, or just getting out there for your first few runs, setting and accomplishing any objective is possible when you know how and why, and sets you up to achieve even more of them, time after time.

--

--

Noah Rocklin
Runner's Life

I write about all things running, health & wellness, growth and anything else that pops into my head that I hope you’ll get some value out of :)