Photo by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash

When Ditching Your Running Watch Could Be the Best Move You Make

Running with more freedom and less pressure

Stephen Hands
Published in
4 min readJul 5, 2024

--

I made two good decisions in recent times concerning my running. One was the physio I chose to help with my troublesome left knee.

The second was to ditch my watch when I first returned to running.

I just wanted to run again

Not wearing a watch when running felt very odd to begin with. For someone whose running life had been based around racing and training for racing, a watch was an integral part of the running kit, as essential to pack as my running shoes.

Therefore, the thought of not putting on my watch before heading out for a run felt almost unnatural. Long-held habits are hard to break, and here I was contemplating breaking a 30-year watch-wearing habit!

But it was the right decision. Times are irrelevant when you start running again following a long lay-off, trying to finally put a long-standing knee issue behind you.

The first objective was to run again. Pure and simple. The second objective was to gradually rebuild confidence in the knee, to prove to myself that its buckling days were finally a thing of the past.

--

--

Stephen Hands
Runner's Life

A freelance writer based in beautiful Cornwall in the UK. A runner looking to share their thoughts and experiences from three decades of running.