Why Do I Still Run Even if I Know It Won’t Help Me Lose More Fat?

And why the extra soreness in my legs and muscles was worth it.

Oliver Romsen
Runner's Life

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

When I started running again on August 1, 2023, I knew it wouldn’t help me lose weight. I’m already physically active and watch what (and when) I eat. I’m fully aware a little more exercise would do little to burn more fat.

So far, I’ve gotten a sore heel, knee, hip, lower back, and tight hamstrings as a reward. I noticed an increased hunger since I started, and I must dedicate more time to muscle recovery and doing yoga. It’s a very demanding sport, but I continue to do it.

A different motivation to take up running

If you’re going to take up running for weight loss only, you might be disappointed. And if you live in a country with four seasons, it’s not as cheap as others say since you’d have to invest in gear suitable for the weather. You’re going to use more time for exercise and recovery. And you’re going to feel sore.

I’m not trying to dissuade people from taking up running. I encourage people to do it if they’re healthy enough. Studies also show that running can help you live longer, and by combining it with dietary changes, you can lose weight.

--

--