Why I Love Cold Weather Running Even Though I Hate Winter

Lisa Lindey
Runner's Life
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Photo by the author

I’ll be honest, I hate the winter. Yeah, the first snowfall is pretty and everything but after that it’s pretty much downhill. I hate the layers upon layers, the constant searching for gloves, how the air hurts my face….you get my point.

But I’m not here to be a negative Nancy. Yes, winter isn’t my favorite but I have some solid reasons to LOVE running in cold weather.

  1. It makes the winter feel not so bad. I can honestly say that running through the winter has made my SAD (Seasonal Affection Disorder) a lot easier to deal with….which makes me easier to deal with. You end up getting acclimated to it. After a few runs 30 degrees doesn’t feel so chilly. It’s kind of like how when it first hits 50 degrees everyone is bundled up but when it hits 50 degrees in March everyone is wearing shorts.
  2. You burn more calories. It’s harder for the body to regulate its core temperature when it’s colder outside. That means you burn some extra calories if you take it outside as opposed to hitting the treadmill.
  3. You feel like a badass. At least I do. Seriously, it’s a great feeling cruising down the sidewalks knowing that you are getting your miles in while everyone else is in hibernation mode.
  4. You increase your core strength. There’s no better ab workout then bracing your core trying not to fall on an ice covered side walk or a frozen trail.
  5. You get to put some cookies in your mental cookie jar. Not familiar with the mental cookie jar? It’s a concept that was introduced to me after reading David Goggins book. Basically you put anything bad or challenging into your mental cookie jar and then when you are in a rough spot you can draw on past experiences for strength.

The cookie jar is a place in my mind where I put all things bad and good that shaped me. Some people try to forget the bad in their life. I use my bad for strength when needed, great lessons learned. In that cookie jar, I pull out whatever I need for the task at hand. — David Goggins

6. Spring/Summer is coming. Spring and summer races are won in the winter. I know that sounds like a generic Nike ad but hear me out. A lot of great races are in the spring or summer. You can’t wait until the weather is good to start training for them. I keep a list of upcoming races (Black Canyon 100k and Vermont 100 miler!) near my coffee maker so when I’m pouring my coffee and it’s freezing out I’m reminded of why I’m doing what I’m doing.

So this year, instead of groaning about running in the freezing weather I’m looking forward to it. Once you get outside and moving, it’s not that bad right?

--

--

Lisa Lindey
Runner's Life

Plant based ultrarunner living in brooklyn. Vegan Nutrition Coach for endurance athletes. Health coach/PN1. I run a lot and eat even more. www.lisalindey.com