Your Running Goals Should Be Primarily Process Goals

Mike McMillan
Runner's Life
Published in
6 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Most runners would agree that setting goals for their running make them better runners. However, too many runners set outcome goals that are beyond their control when they should be setting process goals, which are completely within their control. In this article, I’ll discuss the difference between process goals and outcome goals and how setting process goals can make you a better runner. However, I will also discuss how having a combination of outcome goals and process goals may also lead to running success.

Why We Need Goals

People need goals in order to be successful. Goals are important for several reasons. First, having a goal helps us focus on what is important. Goals are like a map. If I want to get somewhere I’ve never been before, if I don’t use a map, I will end up wandering around aimlessly. A map shows me how to get to my goal from where I’m at right now.

Goals provide motivation. If there’s nothing I really want, I don’t really have a good reason to be working towards anything. Having a goal helps me get up in the morning with a purpose in mind.

Achieving a goal gives most people great satisfaction. I am much more pleased with myself when I achieve something I’ve been working towards for a long time rather than getting something by having it fall into my…

--

--

Mike McMillan
Runner's Life

Mike McMillan writes about computer programming and running. See more of his writing and courses at https://mmcmillan.gumroad.com.