Perfectionism, Procrastination And The Chatbot That Wouldn’t Fire

There are 3 phases to stopping perfectionism becoming procrastination…

Andrew Burns
Running 2 Keep Up

--

It was taking too long. I was taking too long. “When are you going to launch?” they asked. “Tomorrow,” I answered, I think genuinely believing it each time.

Image by the Author

But tomorrow would come and I would have discovered something else that was wrong, something else that needed to be tweaked. Weeks passed…

As with all procrastination, this was fear, pure and simple. Fear of launching something that was less than I think I am capable of. Fear of judgement. Fear of success even. I wanted it to be perfect. I needed it to be perfect.

Eventually I realised this couldn’t go on. I was just going to have to suck it up and launch something that was nearly good, nearly as complete as I wanted it to be. Nearly perfect.

I took a deep breath. I clicked the mouse. Data flowed from my computer out into the world… and nothing. Nada. Zip. What was going on? Had I really produced something so appallingly bad that people couldn’t even bring themselves to engage with it? Had my fears been justified all along?

Not a bit of it. No one had even got that far. You see, I had setup my launch with a Chatbot in place to guide my…

--

--

Andrew Burns
Running 2 Keep Up

Writer, Marketer, Entrepreneur. Always looking for automations to make it all a little easier. Founder at https://salesrails.co