5 Things I Will Never Get Too Old For

Drew Morrison
Running Relentless
Published in
3 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Life is too short to outgrow these.

I have learned that as you get older, the options that you have in life seem to limit themselves.

The world isn’t as open as it once was which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It isn’t a bad thing if you learn to choose what matters to you most.

Aside from friends, family and relationships, which I think that no one should ever be too old to have, there are a few things in life that I have chosen that I should never be too old to do. The day that I cannot do these things I have either had something tragic happen to me or I am on deaths door.

Exercise

Movement is life. When the body is stagnant, it deteriorates. I decided a long time ago that I have to make room for physical activity. It doesn’t matter what form it is, it only matters that it gets done.

Without movement, life feels more dull. Movement awakens the senses and can bring a joy that nothing else can replicate.

Adventure

When I say adventure, I mean trying out new things. An adventure doesn’t have to be grand. An adventure can be deciding to walk to that restaurant that is a mile away instead of driving. An adventure can be driving a different route to change things up.

The essence of adventure is taking a dive into the unknown.

If you always knew what an adventure would bring, what would be the fun in that?

Photo by Alexandra Fuller on Unsplash

Reading

Even with all the ways to consume media today, reading always has a place in my heart. There’s a reason why almost no movies live up to the book.

Writing and reading is the closest thing you can get to being in someone’s head.

There are also things that I would read that I would never watch if it was adopted to television.

Reading gives you more insight and reflection. Something that watching a continuous video can never do.

Photo by Joris Voeten on Unsplash

Relaxing With Loved Ones

The moments where I sit around a fire and chat with the people I care about are the moments I cherish the most.

The moments where everyone can be present and be there are rare these days.

Cherish every like this you can. One of the things that smartphones ruined are moments like this. I would guarantee that a group of 9 people sitting around a fire at least one person would pull their phone out within 15 seconds of the first awkward silence.

Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

Writing

Writing helps me feel like I exist. Even though there’s almost a 100% chance that none of my writing will be read in thousand years that isn’t what is important.

What’s important to me is that someone read my writing and has something to take away for themselves. If that person takes it away into their life then there’s an impact on their future generations.

Even if my writing isn’t directly read in a thousand years, what I write still lasts forever.

--

--

Drew Morrison
Running Relentless

🏃🏻‍♂️Training for the next hardest race. Writing about the lessons that I've learned.