How the Venezuelan Socioeconomic Crisis Motivates Me to Run for Office as a First-Generation Venezuelan-American

Running Start
Running Start
Published in
4 min readJul 15, 2020

By Shania Hurtado Valbuena

My first year of high school paralleled the collapse of my country, Venezuela. I read and watched the news closely, praying for change, for progress, for the preservation of democracy and human rights. I watched as a crippling government and failed state shattered my family’s stability, as food insecurity, economic hyperinflation, and perpetual fear quickly took hold. I watched as close relatives became victims of gun violence, violent protests, and theft. I watched as what should have been a simple surgery quickly became a catastrophe as the broken hospital system lacked basic medical supplies like anesthesia.

Poor leadership and corrupt politics led my country into a state of disarray from which it has yet to recover. And yet, my power was limited. As a fifteen-year-old high schooler, there was little I could do. My voice was not loud enough to save my family, to tell the government how they can do better, to protect the people of my country from violence.

Helplessly watching as my family and country suffered, I soon realized I could make an impact in the United States, where so many families struggle against racism, prejudice, economic insecurity, climate change, and so many other obstacles. This was something I could change. My voice may be loud enough, after all.

I became determined to better my community, advocate for tangible change, and create a better world for every individual.

I sought out leadership positions at my school, I learned and unlearned the intricacies of United States politics, constantly questioning how our systems — the criminal justice system, the education system, housing, etc., can be better. I constantly questioned how my advocacy can be more inclusive and highlight the barriers marginalized groups face — a process I still continue today. Pursuing my passion for achieving global gender equity, I founded a Girl Up chapter at my school, where we discussed the importance of intersectional feminism and the role that politics plays in our everyday lives. Most of all, I listened to the stories of others. I read autobiographies of revered activists and political figures, watched interviews of organizers in today’s movements for equity and justice, and learned of the struggles of everyday Americans. I took the time to educate myself on the American experience at its most raw, vulnerable, and difficult moments.

Pictured: students from the HoustonGirlsCode summer camp the author founded in 2019.
Pictured: students from the HoustonGirlsCode summer camp the author founded in 2019.

Through witnessing the Venezuelan crisis, I realized the important role that politics plays in protecting the rights of citizens and their happiness. I learned how necessary it is to lead with compassion, conviction, and an unwavering desire to advocate for the most vulnerable, the often forgotten. I recognized how important it is tonot only amplify their voices, but work diligently and unapologetically to improve their livelihood. I realized that politics is but one medium to drive change — yet, it holds the power to change someone’s life and this country for the better.

I could not immediately change what was happening in my Venezuela, my country, but I know that one day, I can empower other women and young girls to lead that change, and build on the incredible work of Running Start.

I do not know what the future holds for me, or what my advocacy will look like. I do know, however, how necessary it is to have voices like mine in the room, making decisions at the table. To preserve democracy, equity, and freedom, it is absolutely vital that women, transgender women and men, non-binary Americans, racial and ethnic minorities, and immigrants are represented in the House, the Senate, the Supreme Court, as President, and at every level of government.

Then, our voices are more than loud enough.

Shania Hurtado Valbuena is a first-generation Venezuelan-American student, writer, organizer, and coder from Houston, Texas. She serves as a Girl Up Teen Advisor, a Women Deliver Young Leader, and is part of the Running Start High School Program class of 2020. Shania advocates for gender equity, climate justice, and the end to the gender gap for women in STEM through an intersectional feminist framework.

--

--

Running Start
Running Start

Giving young women the Running Start they need to achieve political power through education & inspiration. Nonpartisan.