Dear Dad

Ross Kinney
Running Towards The Roar
1 min readAug 8, 2016
View of Denver skyline from Simms Steakhouse

Dad,

Thirty-four years ago you let me borrow your car so I wouldn’t have to pick Sue up in my pickup truck for our first date. Our first date was in my father’s Oldsmobile.

I picked Sue up from her apartment right across the street from Twilight Golf course where we first played golf together.

I took Sue to see A Chorus Line at the old Denver Auditorium theatre. After the show we drove over to Simms Landing for dinner, which is now called Simms Steakhouse.

Sometime during the weekend somebody sideswiped your car. I felt like a teenager wrecking my Dad’s car even though I was well past my teenage years. You never said a word to me about that.

Thanks for letting me borrow your car and impress the young girl I nervously asked to go on a date with me. I guess something must have worked. We are still together thirty-four years later.

Miss you Dad…

--

--

Ross Kinney
Running Towards The Roar

Colorado native, former marathon runner, cyclist, often injured from the prior,Software Analyst, Mainframe COBOL Dinosaur.