Building Friendships in Track

Olivia Clark
Running With a Reason
1 min readNov 30, 2018

In my personal experience, running track has had a large impact on my life in many ways, one being that I have made relationships and friendships with many new people. Not just on my team, but also runners from other schools that attend the track meets I participate in as well. Track is a pretty individual sport, but at the same time, you build relationships with the runners on your team. When starting off on the track team, I didn’t know anyone. There were people I thought I would never be friends with or talk to. Having the support and encouragement while running is very important. So having people on your team that will do so, can make you a better runner. As the season progressed, I started making new friends and we would always cheer each other on no matter the case. Even when we would have to run against each other, the motivation and uplift would still be there.

--

--