My Personal Track Experience

Olivia Clark
Running With a Reason
2 min readDec 5, 2018

I started running track my freshman year of high school. Seems a little late to start because many people have been running since elementary school. But it is never to late to start. At first, I always thought that running was pointless. Why would you run so hard that you put yourself in so much pain? But then I just decided to try it out because I had nothing to loose. I joined track because I wanted something to be passionate about and get better at. Starting out, the conditioning was difficult and I didn’t think I could handle. However, once I started to get in shape, my outlook on running changed a lot. Not only did I join track for the fun of it, but also to meet new people. I started out at a new school and track would be the perfect opportunity to meet some new friends. Furthermore, I love track because of the adrenaline rush. When I’m running the 400 meter dash, my adrenaline kicks in and all the nerves are gone. That feeling you get as you are on the last 100 meters is the feeling I crave when running. I also really enjoy the competition. For 5 years, I was a competitive cheerleader. What I loved most about that was the competition. So track does give me a sense of rivalry. I enjoy working hard in order to be the best. That is why track became the ideal sport for me.

--

--