Day 5

Robbin Arcega
runrobbinrun
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2016

Actually, it really isn’t that bad. I had my run yesterday and finally visited the Van Ness and Post location of 24HF, and it’s quite nice despite the eight flights of stairs I need to climb to get to the gym proper. Guess it’s meant to be a workout in itself. Or something.

They had lots of treadmills to choose from and they were all against open windows. That was much appreciated. I, of course, had the luck to choose the one machine that made this awful creaking noise every time my right foot descended on to the belt. Oh, and my new phone decided that it would delete all my Spotify files, too, which was great, thanks. I dealt with the terror that I might break the machine because it was already broken…but hey, I survived! I’m alive and I am now at 1.7 miles, walking and jogging combined, within 30 minutes. That half hour also includes my 5 minute warm-up and 5 minute cool down.

Today, I’m surprised that I wasn’t sore. This is excellent. Unfortunately, I also decided that today I would try out my new pair of sandals. I did not know the agony that comes with breaking in a new pair of sandals, and now I’ve got some terrifying blisters on my feet. I hope it doesn’t affect my running too much, but I’ll see how I fare walking tomorrow. That’s still a 2.5 mile walk, yo.

Hopefully I can rope my brothers into running with me. I’ve gotten a verbal confirmation, but I will get the tickets when I see them next and they can confirm it with me, because I’m paying, damn it.

Nearly at the end of what is technically week 2 of couch to 5k!

--

--