It starts with a run.

Darius Fong
Run Tech Club
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2021

I have been an athlete for much longer than I have been an entrepreneur. I began as a competitive swimmer at a very young age and I have been running for as long as I can remember. I represented my high school as a short distance sprinter competing in 100–400 meter events.

Running has always been about performance. I never imagined that running would become instrumental in pulling me out of depression and forcing me to confront my overall health as I navigate (often alone) the highs and lows of entrepreneurship.

Successful startups rely on both the physical and mental health of entrepreneurs and their teams. But the culture of entrepreneurship puts unfounded emphasis on unsustainable hustle and workload like a badge of honor.

The path to success is a marathon. It is not one sprint but many.

In most cases entrepreneurs need to learn to run fast and hard but for as long and efficiently as possible. That requires discipline and a value-add support network.

Here is the good news: Along with some incredible people, I am starting a run club and incubator for creatives. My goal is to provide access to education, network, and mentorship for entrepreneurs using running as our starting block to redefine how we invest in people and ideas.

To start, we are open for business every Friday at 6:30AM to work 3–5 miles in Culver City, meeting at Go Get Em Tiger.

Let’s run with it.

--

--

Darius Fong
Run Tech Club

President & Founder @Run Tech Club. 2x Grammys. Weekly Venture Memo #VCMO