A Festival with a Heart

PWN Star
Rush hour thoughts
3 min readDec 19, 2013

When I first attended a ‘dance music festival’, I was looking forward to having an unbelievably great time amidst my friends who left their worlds behind just to live the moment. Amongst the many other reasons, I was there to be exposed to healthy music being blared out from a phenomenally tight sound system. Most importantly, I was there to dance my life away so that the memories could be etched on my mind forever.

Fast forward now, and I am spoilt for choice. More than one festival; More than one line-up; More than one brand powering festivals in different parts of the country. While some promise to take you to a different planet, there are them others who offer me free food. While some still promise to show me a fun time standing firm on the sands, the others want me to take a ride on a cruise. Wait, no one offered me free food, yet.

Here I am, in the middle of this chaos, looking for known faces. Looking for known souls I remember losing my nuts with, for so many years. Looking for dancers who took the “Dance like no one is watching” quote, a little too seriously. Not wanting to be lured by a festival, promising me that DJs will spray NO2 on my buttocks. I am not even looking for the Top 10 DJs in the world to play the same 18 songs in their 90 minute sets. I ain’t even looking forward to getting married behind the DJ console. Oh no Sir, I ain’t.

So what am I looking forward to ? What am I looking for, this dance music festival month ? I just wanna breathe-in unadulterated music coming out from those speakers that are placed where they are at the venue, for a reason. I wanna look around and spot happy faces who are there for only one reason…the love for the music. I wanna be group hugged by my friends who I have spent so many years with learning what music can do to our souls. I wanna be surround by people who matter the most.

I have watched Tuhin, Pearl, Nawed & Sanjay for so many years behind the console. Their passion, unmatched. I have watched BT, J00F working like wizards while at a night club. I have watched the Audio Units brothers grow so good, at an alarming rate. I have watched Praveen, Vijay, Vachan, Ma Faiza, Ajit & Ash Roy at the console and I can say they DJ, because they love doing it. I have watched Albin Myers turn an entire dance floor upside down with his energy. Funkagenda, the man who I fell in love with first because he’s a riot on Twitter and later, realised he is an equally good DJ when I heard him in Bangalore. I have also, very carefully, kept my eyes & ears on a trio that is converting so many people across the world to a religion called, ‘Above & Beyond’.

Apart from the many other artists who I am looking forward to hear, I am looking forward to seeing an artist who got me drooling at his music video called, Satisfaction. (Yes, I needed tissues while watching it many a times). I am looking forward very eagerly to an artist who I might sell my soul to, Edu Imbernon.

By now, y’all know where I am gonna be next week. I am heading to a festival that is being curated by a #SuperHuman aka Nikhil Chinapa along with Team Viacom. I am going to a festival called Supersonic, because I want to be at a happy place. I am heading to a festival that has a soul.

I am #GoSupersonic’ing because, I can hear it’s heartbeat.

Tickets & more details: GoSupersonic

--

--

PWN Star
Rush hour thoughts

Striving to be a twitter tycoon || Social Media Manager || Heart, yoga pants || I'm the one, the devil sells your soul to.