russjohns.com

The Task versus the Result

The focus of our attention

Russ Johns
Russ and his Rambles
3 min readJul 13, 2013

--

I find myself getting drawn into the task of doing more than the process of getting it done. The ideal by-product from completing a task is the result. We always seem to be able to receive the benefit from the results and not the tasks. The journey can be the most enjoyable part of completing any task. Getting to the end may result in an actual product that creates joy or fulfillment. We still have to go through the steps from start to finish, complete the required tasks along the way before we can finish the process. (The Result) Why am I rambling?

Why do I get caught up in the tasks. I have to get the links, pictures, (wow that is a nice picture, where does this link go, I might have missed something… Next thing you know is that it’s hours later and you are no closer to getting the result you are looking for. I’m told to enjoy the journey, hell, I even motivate people by telling them to enjoy the process, the journey, the process. And it STILL has a way of burning the only true currency we all use…TIME.

Cracked paths to results

Start to think of the result and remind ourselves that the result is the next shiny object we need to find in the process. We can go on a scavenger hunt at any time we have 6 hours to burn on the internet. *Today is not that time.

Blue because I don’t have more time

I have a personal challenge of having too many interests and know there is no logical way to complete all of them and still find time to sleep or eat. How do I adjust my expectations to limit the number of projects going on at any point in time. Coin Toss? Straws? Deck of cards? Not too sure.

Back on track

I understand finding balance and allowing the results to take place so the process can be completed. Newsletters, websites, music, health, easting and life all have tasks along the way to gain a positive outcome. Results and delivering results is what pays dividends. the bills.

Just a thought I had. I need results and I thrive on the task.

--

--

Russ Johns
Russ and his Rambles

Inspired by Music, Audio & Sound. Fueled by the creative process and searching for my brand of social media. Looking for the next adventure...