Secret city in Siberia — my district, walk to the post office

arcada
Siberian Blog
Published in
5 min readJun 22, 2022

I suggest you look at the photos of the area of the closed “nuclear” city in Siberia, where I live

Greetings to the readers of my blog! Your correspondent from a small closed city in the very center of Siberia is here again and plans to post a small photo report from a place where hardly any of the readers will be in the foreseeable future. At least simply because my city, which was classified a few years ago, is still blocked from external visits, despite the fact that secret defense industries were closed here in the 90s of the last century.

A stele with the inscription “Seversk” and the symbol of a peaceful atom, standing at the entrance to the city

The review article about my city of Seversk was one of the first in the blog, I recommend it for viewing too.

After a long break related to the cooling of interest in the blog and diseases, which I described in detail in the last article, I decided to re-post a small entry in the blog topic as I see it now. It will be something like a photo essay about the area closest to my house, with almost no text. Just captions to photos. There will be no hidden meaning, important information for the reader. Just a number of photos taken during a little walk on an old chinese phone. Perhaps my readers who are interested in how people live in other countries and specifically in Russia will be curious to look at them, compare them with their home, yard, neighborhood, with their surroundings.

The background is simple: after suffering a severe covid-19, leg problems have noticeably intensified, I don’t leave the house often. Here a parcel has arrived at the post office — we need to walk to the post office. It is located about a kilometer from my house, on the way I decided to take pictures on my phone of everything and then show it on my blog.

So… I live in my own apartment in an apartment building. This is very common for residents of Russian cities. My house is a classic brick five-story “Khrushchevka” (a standard type of residential building developed in the 60s). No elevator. I live on the fourth floor, now with sore legs, heart and breathing that has not recovered after covid, it is a little difficult to climb with my weight :) But these are small things. In general, the house is good, better than similar projects made of reinforced concrete panels. And it is located in a fairly quiet area.

The stairwell of my entrance
The neighboring apartment building, in fact, the entire development of my district is about this
Pensioners love benches at the entrance of the house on a warm sunny day
A small alley leads from my house to the next yard, here my track to the post office begins
A pharmacy, an order pick-up point in an online store within walking distance.
Garbage collection point. There is in every yard. Not the most photogenic place, but for a photo report, do you have to show everything in a row as it is?
The residents made bird feeders, I remember in Soviet times they were in every house on trees, and now I don’t often meet them, every time I rejoice when I see that there are still people who do not forget about nature.

..by the way, there is a strange structure in the background, these multicolored pillars are a legacy from the USSR. In fact, these concrete pillars with metal crossbars were intended for residents of nearby houses to dry their laundry here, beat the dust out of carpets. The usual way of life a few decades ago, which we do not even remember now. But the site itself has remained, the management company even updates the paint on the pillars. It’s really nice. Because for me personally, like any child from the 70s and 80s, their main purpose was to play volleyball, to use as a horizontal bar… Now, however, children also sometimes climb these bars.

children’s playground between the houses
On the right, behind a puddle (the rain passed in the morning), the office of the housing management company of our district.

On the right, pigeons, despite the warm summer, chose the concrete platform of the heat collector. The solution to this behavior of birds is simple, I have often seen compassionate grandmothers feeding pigeons at this place. So apparently they have something like a dining room :)

..and here is the post office on the first floor of a residential building. This is where I need to go.

I’ll go back the other way, through the neighboring yard, to take some more photos

working day, 12:30 approximately, and this is a quiet area on the edge of the city, there are few people on the street at this time
cherry blossom time, beauty
the influence of Western culture — our teenagers also began to paint graffiti on the walls
I moved to another courtyard, it’s a little older, there are apartment buildings made of reinforced concrete panels. It was cheaper and faster to build this way, which was critical during the construction period, but these houses are colder in winter than brick houses like mine.
like a selfie… in the lens of an old phone, the face stretched out somewhere :)
another children’s playground
The house, recently renovated under the state program of capital repairs of residential buildings, is almost the same in my yard, it was renovated last year.
A street on the border of our block, a view in one direction and the other.
A street on the border of our block, a view in one direction and the other.

Here’s a little walk turned out. Maybe it was interesting for someone to see the most ordinary everyday view of our life. If someone liked this format, please do not be lazy to put a “like” so that I understand the degree of need for the reader of such simple photo reports.

I suggest you look for other interesting entries about my city, about Russia in my blog:

--

--

arcada
Siberian Blog

Hi! My name is Alex and I’m Russian :) And I live in a closed “atomic” city, somewhere in the depths of the Siberian taiga.