We like the art: NFTs on Bitcoin

Michael Finney
Rustbelt Innovators
4 min readApr 25, 2022

Let’s get this out of the way: I can’t stand the term “NFT”, it’s just marketing trickery. I am in support of content distribution and monetization via token and blockchain technology. However, no matter what I think about the semantics, this segment of the cryptosphere is here to stay. We like the art. For disclosure, I did sign up for OpenSea last year and posted a few collections but have mostly neglected it since then.

Over the last year, this application has been popping up on every blockchain that can handle smart contracts and perhaps even driving the industry’s general price stability after the DEFI summer of 2020.

Even Bitcoin SV has a handful of markets slanging JPGs, which are closely tied to the community of wallet users you can use to transact on each platform.

So, I have compiled a couple notes as I continue to explore these BSV content markets.

First up, the RareCandy site has the best and most thoroughly packaged UI though perhaps not the best UX since it requires specific browsers and their wallet plugin, also curation is utterly closed down so that’s quite clique-ish.

Take It had some issues on mobile for me but I was able to work around that on desktop. Haste Labs’ market uses voting to determine which collections to list. However, I’m not certain any offerings are currently live on the platform to date.

RelayX is excelling on total package right now but I’m guessing it’ll stay static since its “launch”, like so many projects in their ecosystem. Additionally, because it has such an “open door” policy, piracy was an issue while I was researching this piece.

As someone once said, “The cool thing about JPGs is they can represent hashes on a limitless number of blockchains. There’s literally no cap on this…”

All the same, I tested how the system works and released a few images on the platform, which is built on the RUN protocol.

My first BSV NFT collection was two 1:1 pieces under the name “Impossible Things Before Breakfast”, which were created by looping a video feed of a Penrose triangle into itself in OBS.

I had to start experiminting because there are things I want to do with smart contracts — so please forgive me.

That said: it cost less than 20¢ to create the collection and mint the two images on RelayX, which I think is incredibly cheap. Probably shouldn’t have input the Reveal Key but that’s alright, it’s important to see how things work — now I know.

FabriikX has potentially the most room to run but the design needs some buffing. Their built-in exchange web app makes inbounding capital quite rapid.

I plan to continue watching each platform evolve and would like to produce more releases that make sense for the respective platforms.

Ultimately, I really think BSV suffers from being a community of segregated tokens protocols. It’s almost like the chain is already forked…

To wrap up this coverage, I want to announce that I’ll be releasing a 14-piece collection under the title “A Waveform Known as Collapse”.

Thanks for reading!

--

--