The New York State of Mind

Christina Jaouhari
Rx3 Magazine

--

The How-Tos for your first study-tour experience

People usually go to New York for a number of things. Typically, I use to go to New York for 3 reasons: the food, the city and the pictures. Well this trip was strictly business as I conducted a 3 day study tour as a means to discover luxury in the famous city of New York.

When I was younger, hence a week before this trip, when I thought of luxury in New York City the ideals were limitless. However, one particular movie scene always stood out in my mind. The scene of Audrey Hepburn gazing into a Tiffany and Co. window as she sipped her coffee and eat her muffin.

If Breakfast at Tiffany’s wasn’t your movie, I’m sure you could relate to Gossip Girl or Sex in the City.

Although our study tour did not resemble the window display of a Tiffany and Co. Our study tour consisted of a number of AMAZING companies.

  • Wealth-X
  • Kravet
  • EvolveMKD
  • Macy’s
  • Boston Consulting Group
  • Time Warner Media Lab
  • The Ritz-Carlton
  • The Peninsula Hotel

(As you can see I got my share of rooftop pictures)

The steps of a Study- Tour

1. Packing

Business professional is required at each meeting. Be sure to make neutrals and blacks, colors that you can easily mix and match. Especially if you’ve already packed all your shoes and a pound away from paying an overweight fee!

Be sure to pack COMFORTABLE flats. I love my heels just a much as any other girl; however, trust me….after a mile heels you will start to cry from pain.

2. The Company Visits

Before visiting a company be sure to do adequate research. You should be aware of the company, along with having a set of prepared questions that you may want to ask. Be respect of their time as they are with yours.

3. Networking Socials

You may either love it, or hate it. It all depends on how social you are. This event is opportunity that you should never let slide. You essentially get back what you put in. The higher you are in terms of engagement levels, the more rewarding the social will for you. Do not be scared to introduce yourself to other professionals within the you’re field of interest.

4. The Weekend

This is your chance to learn luxury in your own. Perhaps you can schedule some informational interviews. I, along with a group of friends, met with an inspirational mentor of ours, June Haynes CEO OF June Haynes Luxury Retailing.

In addition, on my day off I got to experience a virtual gorilla marketing campaign for #adidas and #Harden.

After a long week of networking you can catch up on some sleep and explore the city at your own place. I even got to get my pictures during the spare time.

Oh and don’t forget about the food!

The streets of New York City can tell you all you need to knows about luxury! The secrets of such an enormous industry are embedded throughout the city.

--

--