Accelerated Pharmacy Programs: Worth It?

Miriam Danquah
Rx Radio
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2018

I am currently a pharmacy student within an accelerated program. Let me tell you, I have a lot to say. The pharmacy program in general is no walk in the park. Wether it is accelerated or not, it is a program that you will have to sacrifice plenty for. There will be a lot of restructuring and organization of life during those years. Nevertheless, choosing the right path, I feel can have an affect on your journey to graduation.

The difference between an accelerated program versus the traditional is quite simple. The Traditional path is 4 years. And the Accelerated path is about 3 years. Simple right? Well lets dive deeper.

Once upon a time, I was an engineering student. This definitely helped me with my sciences and my mathematics. I would say I was pretty strong in the STEM part of academia. Wouldn't this make me a great candidate for the accelerated path? To be honest, not really.

Here are a some of my pros and cons for doing an accelerated pharmacy program:

Pros

You have a continuous flow of education. What I mean is, you get less breaks. Breaks sometimes can set you back if you are not consistently refreshing your memory. I know I wasn’t the type of student to study during the spring break. Another great thing is that you reach graduation a lot faster and save time. Yay!

Cons

You have no breaks! I know I just used this as a pro. However, I feel that having less breaks, increased my stress levels. You also have to learn much more material for a shorter amount of time. That is never a good thing.

Being overwhelmed and stuck is a constant feeling within the accelerated program. This could be due to the fact that the curriculum is so condensed. Some may say the quality of eduction in a 3-year program might not be as prodigious. It might also be assumed that the 3-year path is much cheaper. If you really think about it, shorter does not always mean better. In a 4-year program you have the time and luxury of being able to work decent hours. Not so much in a 3-year because you wont even have time to blink.

Accelerated pharmacy programs are definitely doable. Many have graduated and have started their lives. Yet, many have indeed struggled. One example is me. One thing you should do before starting any pharmacy program is do a self evaluation. See how you handle stress and tasks under short periods of time. Figure out what is the best fit for you according to your strength. You may want to do extensive research as well. Look into the structure of the program and what the school will do to make sure you succeed. I can’t tell you how important this is. Lastly, do not be afraid to ask questions. Try to seek advice from a professor or a former student of your chosen institution.

Until next time,

Mimi

PharmD Student

--

--