Measuring BMI could be misleading

“ Am I really overweight-borderline obese?”

Sherley Bencosme
3 min readJun 9, 2021

Many people can become insecure about themselves when they learn that their BMI is an indicator of body fat. Not only this, but it is used to determine if the person is normal, overweight, or obese. I know this is especially true for me when I entered pharmacy school and learned this new skill used as a diagnostic tool in healthcare. I had believed “Freshman 15” was a real thing for me.

Body Mass Index is used to measure a person’s body fat. It uses the person’s weight and height to adjust for this. This diagnostic tool has been used for decades because it is a simple, affordable, and noninvasive surrogate measure of body fat. Also, studies have shown that BMI levels correlate with body fat and the health risk it poses. For example, a BMI lower or higher than “normal weight” is associated with “poor health.”

Do I have poor health because I am classified as overweight-borderline obese?

No! I learned that “freshman 15” was not a thing for me after all. When I started pharmacy school, I also started my fitness journey. Not intentionally to change my physique, but to be healthier and keep my mind sane. While doing so, I started making healthier food choices while still allowing myself to enjoy what my body pleased. As a result, this lead me to gain muscle and strength and, according to BMI classification, became overweight- borderline obese. It was not until my insecurities affected my daily life, where I lost interest in wearing specific clothing or going to places because I felt as if my thighs were too big or my arms were too muscular. I was letting a number define me.

I became aware of the limitations of BMI and how these should be considered. Factors such as age, sex, ethnicity, and muscle mass can influence a person’s BMI to body fat ratio. Also, Body Mass Index can not distinguish between excess fat, muscle or bone mass, nor the distribution of fat among individuals.

Not only did I stop measuring myself on a scale, but I also quit measuring my BMI to find out if I was finally at my “normal weight”.

It becomes difficult for many people to change that mentality and to quit something that is clinically used for weight management. I questioned myself, why would they create this tool if it has so many variables that can influence the interpretation of such? These concerns also apply to children and adolescents using BMI. Other factors including height and level of sexual maturation, influence the BMI to body fat among this population.

As I continued my journey, I decided to love myself the way I am and not let anything define me. I continue to choose better eating habits and exercise regularly. Doing so keeps me healthy and my mind sane enough for pharmacy school and everything in between.

Best,

Sherley Bencosme, BS | Bencosmes@husson.edu

--

--