My Story

Ryan Matlock
Ryan Matlock
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2016
thumbnail1

I have always been and will likely always be both a creator and an entertainer. That’s is who I am, and if you’ll continue reading, I’ll show you why.One of my earliest memories is of the time my relatives were teaching me how to tell jokes. After learning the basic structure, I began to tell original knock-knock jokes as much as I could. Today, my relatives inform me that not one of them made logical sense, but that’s not what mattered. My family laughed at what I had created, and that’s what mattered to me.
I loved being creative, and my mother encouraged that. When in Kindergarten, my mother took me out of public school to homeschool me, and that forever changed my life. I was given the freedom to go at my own pace, which meant I could finish my work at my speed and have time to create whatever I wished when I was done.

From there, I only grew in my quest to entertain. I wrote a comic strip about homeschooling, a comic book about the “Evil Dr. Egg-Man”, and other works never published and likely lost to the collection of the past that is our basement.

By age 14, our old, slow computer finally bit the dust, opening the door for a newer, faster one. This was when I discovered that there were a lot of amazing entertainers out there! Viewing this online content inspired me to produce similar content. After all, if they could make me laugh this hard, I wanted to be able to do that for others.

Aside from school, my main activities as a teen included 4 years of competitive speech and debate and a constant goal to get better at online content creation. Over the years, I was blessed with the opportunity to meet and work with my favorite writer, podcaster, AND YouTuber! Combined with my own endeavors in writing, audio, and video production, those experiences gave me a huge head start on learning the basic skills necessary for what I want to do now.

Now at the age of 19, I’ve cultivated a YouTube following of over 700 subscribers, worked producing videos for companies to use in web marketing, and am currently enrolled in the Praxis apprenticeship program where I’ll be learning how to build and improve my brand as well as hone my skills as a content creator and an entrepreneur.

Again, my passions are to create new things and to entertain people. I’m incredibly thankful to live in an age where the internet makes it possible to not only do this, but also create value for others as a result.

--

--

Ryan Matlock
Ryan Matlock

I’m a content creator with an aim to tell people’s stories and watch people succeed.