In the Darkness, We Must Become Sunlight

S. Alex Carroll
Queer Ramblings During Uncertain Times
2 min readJan 18, 2017

In a few days, Trump will take office. And I know some of you are scared. I know some of you have been scared. I am too. Take a deep breath with me. Whatever happens on Friday, whatever happens after, I want you to realize hope was never lost. We might not be okay. We might face the unimaginable. But goddamn it, I still have unending hope, and will, until the day I pass on from this life to the next. And I pray to all that is holy that you do too.

So look around. Revel in our resistance. Let it soak into your pores to give you the strength to push back. Let it be the amplifier for your voice. The foundation on which you stand up for all that is Good. Let it hold you steady to improve your aim. Let it shelter you from the siren songs of apathy. So acknowledge your fears, greet them, and continue marching forever forward.

Because you are everything. We are everything. In what they take away, we will build something thousands more beautiful. We will create fire and frameworks out of ashes and dust. We will construct new meaning from the rubble they leave behind. We will rewrite the definition of love itself.

So, you. You beautiful fucking human beings with all of your fears and perceived flaws, I say come with me. Let us be the artists so dedicated that we paint by candlelight in the darkness. Let us become our own sunrise.

So lean in.
Don’t look away.
Keep building.

--

--

S. Alex Carroll
Queer Ramblings During Uncertain Times

S. Alex is a queer and trans masculine writer and activist born and raised in the Deep South.