Are We There Yet?

Surya Sridhar
S by S
Published in
1 min readMar 18, 2020

I hope your hands interlock with mine
Walking down New York City
The store lights off the glass
The snow falls on your cheeks, ever so slightly.

Staring into the depths of space
Sitting by the fireplace heat
The flames flickering on your face
While storms swirled in your eyes.
You make my heart wonder,
If it’s always been wrong.

Third floor on the shiny elevators,
Burning embers and iced tea,
Maybe it’s too delicate for us,
But is it cool you’re in my head?
Will this always just be a dream?
Will it ever just be, me and you?

Tap for you, drink at the bar,
Never seen you in lights unknown,
Scared ‘cause that this is all new,
Aren’t I supposed to be good at this?
It’s sparkling round the corner,
Is it even meant to be mine?
Is it cool that I said all that?
Will you ever feel what I do?

Will I ever hear you say I love you?
Is it chill if I say it too?

--

--