The Devil’s Wings

Surya Sridhar
S by S
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2020

Being the thread of yin and yang,

Blended yet distinctive, perfection.

Until I realized there were knots,

Contortions in my crafted preciseness,

Unknown to the world, I’m crumbling

A façade that has become my face,

Before I understood it all, I’m brand new.

Owning my life has never felt better,

Shielding away the arrows of love,

All seven of them, as the Greeks say.

Following the glitz, high off the satisfaction,

You’ll never know what it does to me,

Climbing up on elevators, ambitions high

Wings wrapped in your bearing chains.

Every flutter of mine was your shrapnel,

Each of your chain-link, ripping me alive.

Silences comforting, words looming like knives.

We were always a pyramid, I stood atop.

And you bore the weight, opposite ends of the

Spectrum, like a prism splitting sunlight.

Dancing through the pain in my living room,

Its 3 am and my heart’s sycophant to my thoughts.

Rolling down a slope too steep to steer,

Losing memories like letters on the shore sand,

The sounds in my head, still not in pitch.

Destined to pain and ruthless in spirit,

Demons to slain, enemies to visit,

Crowns to steal and fame to achieve.

But, it makes me wonder again,

If your chains are worth my flight,

And this time around, the answer had changed.

--

--