The Phantom of a Dream

Carla Ibanzo - CLI Ink
S@idwithwords
Published in
1 min readMay 14, 2023

--

Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

“If your dreams don’t scare you they aren’t big enough" — Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Does a dream dim with the passing years?

And does it lose its appeal?

Is it now a gradient phantom,

And does it seem surreal?

Do you want it more

Or are you no longer sure?

Have you toiled and waited for it for

so long that you are no longer sure

what it is you want anymore?

Have the accumulated failures

got your will in a gridlock?

And have the stream of rejections conquered

the battle in your head?

Tell me

Have the naysayers been able to

cement your doubts?

And alas, is the dream now a mere

phantom that prances and pounce?

Written: by Carla L Ibanzo (c) 2023

That’s all folks. Thanks for reading. I welcome your feedback, claps and comments. Press follow if you like what you read. Cheers!

🎐 Contact info:

1stthirdworld@gmail.com

🪂 For more of my writings visit:

www.1stthirdworld.substack.com

www.tealfeed.com/@1stthirdworld

🍀 Consider subscribing to my channel:

www.youtube.com/@saidwithwords

--

--

Carla Ibanzo - CLI Ink
S@idwithwords

💚 to travel. A lover of books, music, poetry, food and traveling. I write from the heart. I’m inspired by my dreams,🎐 experiences & other’s stories 🍄