The Mechanism of Othering and the Strategies of Un-Othering

magyepong97
S18 The Other
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

What?

Some of the strategies that really resonated with me from the “Participant Observation” chapter include being immersed and interactive in your learning and being embodied and experiential in the culture and community of the people you are studying. I have already practiced being immersed and interactive in my learning when I went to Ghana last summer with my mom for a funeral. I had never visited the country or gone to a traditional Ghanaian funeral, so I truly did not know what to expect. During my two weeks in Ghana, I was able to experience the day to day lives of the people who live there. I walked to the closest market with my mom and grandmother, watched my grandmother haggle with the different vendors, and saw a police officer receive a bribe from a person who wanted the boot off of their car. My true cultural experience did not occur, however, until I traveled to the more rural parts of Ghana for the funeral. While driving through these areas, both my mom and my aunt were telling story after story about how they grew up and the way they had to live. Listening to these stories allowed me to understand why my mom was the person she was and how her culture and community shaped her. Hopefully, I will be able to apply this kind of observation to the time I spend at the SPAHR Center.

So What?

Prior to this class, I thought I had a solid concept on othering come to find out that my knowledge on the topic was actually quite limited. I did not realize that othering can happen in every aspect and moment in our lives even if we are trying our best to fit what we think is the definition of “woke” or culturally humble. This being the case, I have found myself being more aware of the way I speak to people and the way I may refer them. One example of unintentional othering I observed at my community partner was a couple of weeks ago when a lady came in complaining about the sign that sits on the street in front of the center. The sign basically sates that the SPAHR Center is a place where people can get tested for HIV and where those who are already living with it can receive assistance. The lady’s issue with the sign was that it broadcasted her medical status, and because of the way that HIV is stigmatized in the media, she felt that bystanders would judge those who walk in. Initially, I thought that the lady was creating a problem that did not really exist. However, after learning what othering is and how it affects people, I understand why she was upset. She did not want to be called out or “othered” for something that could have easily been kept private. I know that the SPAHR Center means well by that sign, but maybe measure can be taken in order to keep the opinions of the people who utilize the center in mind while still promoting its services.

Now What?

I really enjoyed the part John Powell’s talk where he states that denying people from other countries is not just denying human belonging but denying the belonging of life and life expressions. This statement stood out to me because of the political climate the US is currently in. The main reason that countries are reluctant to let “outsiders” in is because they are not completely knowledgeable about the cultures and the lives of the people they are denying which both stems from and feeds into othering. I truly do not believe that many people understand the concept of othering which makes it hard to point it out. Because of this, it is important to demonstrate the “un- Othering” process in our day to day lives. Once people start recognizing that there is nothing wrong with realizing differences and embracing them, I believe that othering will slowly cease to exist, but only if we really stick to this mindset. The community at the SPAHR Center does its best to make sure that the people who visit feel welcomed; the people who visit have more than likely been othered in other communities so it is important that they feel like they can belong to this one.

--

--