“ Once you’re a part of Saarthi, you’re always a part of Saarthi.”

Krishna Kunal, IIT Kharagpur.

Krishna Kunal
Saarthi.ai
3 min readDec 21, 2018

--

My internship at Saarthi started in May 2018 and lasted for two months, with the opportunity to continue in the position if I continue to meet expectations.

Saarthi is a Conversational AI platform to get all your tasks done in the best way possible. I was in the backend team of Saarthi, and I was expected to learn and apply my knowledge of Python and Django to integrate and make different APIs(Application Program Interface). Later on, I learnt Celery and RabbitMQ to carry out some background jobs. My supervisor Nishant Goyal, who is the CTO of the company, would brief me with a project that was being carried out and assign me to a specific task; from there I would work on it until completion.

Project duration ranged from an hour, to a few days, to even an entire month. There were other interns who I could rely on for help as well as a few other co-workers in the team who would often help me if I ran into any issues. I must concede, the team often went beyond their responsibilities to come to my aid.

As an intern, I was also pulled onto many other tasks like preparing a case study on how to successfully run a startup. This certainly was an insightful assignment to make myself aware of how things are carried out in a faced-paced start up like Saarthi.

How did this prepare me for my next professional endeavor?

This experience prepared me in a number of ways from office etiquette, to working with deadlines, to gaining knowledge from hands on training. I have learned how a startup operates, who oversees what and how to network with the different people I’d been exposed to. In the future I will be well prepared to embrace deadlines and make sure that I’m applying myself in the best manner to complete the project.

The most valuable experience has been the hands on work and development that was core aspect of my internship. I’ve been able to apply the information learned in university courses to real life problems and truly understand the programs and tools that provide aid in the professional world.

Advice to future interns :

For future interns-Always express passion about the jobs you’re given. My days at Saarthi commenced with a smile and ended with on. Even if you feel a question you have or problem may be dumb, consult with someone because it will show your willingness to learn.

This is a highly productive and talented pool of creators, developers and experts. Be productive and you never know when an opportunity may arise outside of your cubicle, so knowing people will help you move up the career ladder.

N.B.- Once you become part of Saarthi you always remain a part of it! :)

--

--