Education sales vs Tech-sales

Vaibhav Agrawal
SaaSBee
Published in
2 min readDec 11, 2021

My story

I joined an edtech company as a fresher as a typical salesperson.

They call it admissions counselor. It was my first full-time job after dropping college. After 3 weeks of training, I had the responsibility of selling MBA courses priced at 4 lakh INR. to working professionals and graduates to help them better job opportunities.

Every day I was asked to complete 180 minutes of talk time and make 100+ calls. It gave me a very negative impression of a sales job. I resigned after a month.

I spent the next 3 months finding something better, there I came to know about something as Tech-Sales or Sales Development Rep.

I learned there are many differences between education sales and tech sales. It was my Aha! moment. I was super happy and excited because of two reasons —

1. I tried learning to code several times & failed but still wanted to be part of a top company or at least have a salary close to my friends who were targeting Amazon, VMware, etc. (12–15+ LPA). I got my ray of hope back!

2. I got something with which I can be a part of high growth and paying tech industry without even having coding skills.

In the next post, I will discuss the major differences in tech sales, which makes it much better than a traditional sales job. #education #learning #training #tech #SDR #sales #job #edtech

--

--

Vaibhav Agrawal
SaaSBee
Editor for

Talks about #job, #career, #colleges, #education, and #entrepreneurship #tech-sales