$149.99 Mind Control Device?

Something about these headphones is not making me feel like a dangerous woman

Samantha Lopez
SAC Media
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2016

--

After becoming the Queen of wearing fake cat ears, even when it isn’t Halloween, Ariana Grande has done the impossible and created a set of headphones.

I know, I know. But that’s not all, are you sitting down? I think you should, because here is where shit gets real. These aren’t just ordinary Apple headphones (R.I.P) or a pair of Beats by Dr.Dre, they are wireless cat headphones.

The headphones come with, obviously, the headphones, but the cat ears have external speaker headphones so the people around you can listen to “Into You,” as well.

Alright, alright. Slow you roll, contain your excitement, because we haven’t reached the gut-wrenching part: the price.

These headphones retail for… drum roll, please.

$149.99!

No, I’m not kidding you. Pre-Order is live now on Brookestone.com and to add more debt to your student loans, it gives you the option for a protection plan. Starting at $20. So all together, $170, given you choose the cheapest protection plan.

The silver lining is that there is a promotional code for free shipping over $99. But let’s not forget that standard sales tax, which is estimated to be around $13.

The grand total with everything together? Around $183.

Now, I’m not a big Ariana fan, therefore this price seems ridiculous to me. But, putting myself in the shoes of Arianators, especially because it is limited edition, I would die.

I mean, I’m planning on spending my last dime getting front row seats when One Direction finally decides to go back on tour.

So, it’s not just the price that has me uneasy about this. But does NO ONE remember the Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius movie?! 90' kids, where ya’ at? The parents were literally wearing a mind control device, where they went against their own kids!

How is this any different?

Conspiracy Theory: Ariana is slowly trying to take over the world, by forcing all of us to listen to her music through these headphones, WHICH WILL SIRE US TO HER AND WE WILL BE HER ARMY.

Kidding…. Or am I?

--

--