Pho’

Are you Pho’ Real?

San Dimas’ VN Cuisine: Yes, I am Pho’ real.

Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2017

--

My first experience with this restaurant, which is now one of my favorites, was actually begrudgingly with my parents, who did not sell it to my then younger self. We walked into the quaint restaurant and were greeted by a friendly smile and a hand that directed us to sit wherever we wanted. What followed was a great dining experience of spring rolls, friendly chatter, and of course, Pho.

I have been going to VN Cuisine ever since, mostly in the wintertime because nothing beats a nice warm bowl of pho in the winter cold. This little restaurant garnishes a lot of much deserved attention in the San Dimas area, as it is the only pho restaurant in the city.

With all of this continued loyalty, I wanted to figure out more about the restaurant’s culture and history, so I sat down with Kimlong Phan, 20, son of the owners, who described to me the basic history of the restaurant. His parents immigrated to America to escape the war, and the family owned a nail salon before this business venture.

According to Phan, his parents are both great cooks so owning and operating a pho restaurant just naturally happened. Using homemade recipes passed on from his grandparents, no less, the business continues to run strong and stays successful.

“Well it’s the broth, that’s special… the meat and everything else just adds on,” Phan said, while describing what made the restaurant special. “The other stuff is important, but broth is the most important.”

That it is, and the most important part of the restaurant's specialty is excellent, and you can always spice it your own way. Every bowl of pho served comes with spicy peppers, bean sprouts and hoisin sauce so that customers can spice it up in their own way and to their own liking.

It may not be true that start ups are always better than big chains. However in my personal opinion, I will not have to travel for pho for quite sometime, because VN Cuisine shows no sign of moving, and THAT’S how it should stay.

You can find VN Cuisine at 658 W Arrow Hwy, San Dimas, CA 91773.

--

--

I don’t hear good. Sometimes I write. Email: jonathanaus10@gmail.com Twitter:@jonathanaus10