My Love Affair with Glossier

Skincare, makeup, and a pretty aesthetic? Sign me up.

Talin Hakopyan
SAC Media
Published in
4 min readApr 1, 2017

--

As a die-hard Scorpio, I hate change. I like sticking to my routines and day-to-day habits, until something magical and remarkable comes into my life. This magical and remarkable gift made me clear out a majority of my skincare and makeup and made room for some beautiful new products.

When I first found out about the brand Glossier, I was immediately attracted to their beautiful marketing, the simplicity of their products and how everything just looked…pretty? I had seen people I followed on social media post about their products, but my very close friend took my Glossier virginity and told me each and every product I needed. Needless to say, I bought all of them that day and waited patiently for my packages to arrive.

For those who are unaware, because I sure was, Glossier was launched by the beauty blog, Into The Gloss. Emily Weiss, the CEO and founder of Glossier, ITG and my ultimate girl crush/inspiration/queen, launched Glossier after recognizing, as a consumer, how detached some companies were with their products and overall branding. You may know Weiss from “The Hills,” with Lauren and Heidi. Needless to say, she’s come a long way.

Weiss said, “There wasn’t a brand that spoke to women in an approachable way, while delivering a luxury experience and encouraging beauty as a part of overall personal style.”

With Glossier, her and her team used conversations from Into The Gloss to create a company that would embody what their consumers would want in products, but also the delivery of their content. It’s a movement.

Glossier’s mantra is “Skin first, makeup second, smile always.” Does that not make you fall in love? Because I am head-over-heels over every aspect of this company. Weiss also said that Glossier is “inspired by, and made for, real life: not for fashion shows, not for red carpet.”

In a world where makeup is huge, which I absolutely love, you forget about how unrealistic some beauty standards are. I could use every product Kendall Jenner uses, but I won’t look like the 21-year-old supermodel/socialite, I’ll look like the 21-year-old Editor-In-Chief of the publication you’re reading. With Glossier, everything feels more personal, which is what Weiss successfully achieved.

Moving on to the actual products, Glossier have a tight-knit range of products that reflect todays beauty trends. On their website, they have a skincare section and a makeup section, but they offer packages, referred to as “phases,” that include both and serve their own purposes. All of your packages come in their incredibly cute and resourceful pouches and you get stickers to decorate your products. Who doesn’t love stickers?

Glossier is most well-known for their Boy Brow, which is a brow gel that makes your brows look effortlessly put together, and their Balm DotCom, which is a universal skin salve that saved my life this summer. I have the coconut flavor, but it also comes in original, mint and rose — which has a slight tint.

My favorite Glossier item, that I own, is their coveted Milky Jelly Cleanser. I have tried everything from drugstore cleansers to cleansers that cost more than two pairs of shoes, but nothing beats the Milky Jelly Cleanser.

I swear by this product. I use it every morning and every night and my skin feels like silk afterwards and it has put an end to my random breakouts. It takes off your mascara instantly and is gentle, yet effective. Typing this out is actually making me emotional because our world does not deserve this cleanser. Pair it with their Priming Moisturizer and voila! Your new skincare routine.

My first Glossier purchase wasn’t complete without splurging on two face masks and Glossier’s version of a highlighter. I spent a week in Miami and as much as I hated putting makeup on before going to the beach, I used my Topaz Highlighter so my highlight could blind the Gods. And it did.

Since my first Glossier escapade, I’ve added some new children to my collection, three of them being Glossier’s face serum set. They’ve saved my skin and make me feel fresh. I haven’t tried their version of blush, which is called “Cloud Paint” (SO. DAMN. CUTE), but I may need to do so soon.

If I were to go over every Glossier product and what I love about them and why I love them, this article would turn into a novel. But I highly recommend taking the plunge and doing your research. Glossier does not test on animals and on their product pages you can find a list of the key ingredients used, the benefits of the product and how to use the product.

They also offer merchandise as well, for those who are dedicated to the brand. I just ordered their pin to wear proudly on my denim jacket. I’m not mad at this at all.

I am in no way, shape, or form a beauty guru or a beauty journalist, but I am a 21-year-old consumer who knows good products when I see them. Glossier is everything and more when it comes to not only skin care and makeup, but empowering women by being their for women.

--

--

Talin Hakopyan
SAC Media

Former EIC of Substance.Media. The lovechild of Kanye West and Anna Wintour.