Sorry Momma, I’m having Papa’s Pad Thai

A taste of home in every plate.

Zanesha Williams
SAC Media
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2017

--

Just blocks away from Ontario Airport, a small shopping center is home to a cozy Thai food restaurant that is definitely one that should not be overlooked. Ontar Thai has a detailed menu based on traditional Thai food with your taste buds in mind.

Intira Paowsong, Thailand native, is the passionate owner of the intimate restaurant that opened in the fall months of 2012. Since then, her restaurant has continued to build popularity within its surrounding community.

“Finding the right place and starting a business [was] hard, but I wanted to keep looking and looking” Paowsong said. Her determination to open her business paid off when a review in The Sun, a local paper, caused an entirely new crowd of customers and conversation about her tasty entrees.

Chicken Pad See Ew

Growing up in Thailand, Paowsong made it her goal to keep tradition in both her establishment and her food. She stated that most of her recipes have been passed down from the women in her family, and a few from her father. “When I saw my mom and papa have fun times when cooking I wanted to have fun too, I want my food to be fun” she said. This is ultimately what drove Paowsong to pursue opening her traditional Thai restaurant.

Ontar Thai Restaurant

Walking into Ontar, customers are greeted with smiles that make them feel as if they are special. Poawsong said that although her business is a success, she does not plan to expand anytime soon since she prefers to stay small and private.

In addition to staying small and private, Paowsong stated passing down her business to a loved one is only hopeful. When asked if she has any new dreams for her business she said with all smiles, “No, [I’m] happy with my business now, I have fun, I have business!”

Intira Paowsong stated that all of her food is her favorite food, but she advises her Papa’s Pad Thai for first timers. “[I] only want to give a good Thai taste and a good place to enjoy food from my own home.”

--

--