From Okada Rider to Employee: Meet Indomie

Seyi from SafeBoda
SafeBoda Nigeria
Published in
6 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Adebisi Babatunde (Indomie)

For the early team, Indomie has been a constant name. As one of our foremost riders, he stood out from the rest.

Maybe it was his demeanour, his smile, his name, or just his general presence, but Babatunde knew how to draw people to himself. Today, we take a dive into his life as we tell the story of the man who went from being one of our SafeBoda Riders to a SafeBoda employee.

What is your name?

Adebisi Babatunde Monsuru

SB number?

068

A lot of people call you Indomie. Can you tell us how you came about that name?

I once worked with Dufil Prima as a member of their Marketing Team. We were involved in visiting schools to present gifts to the children.

In 2010, I came down to Ibadan for my OND so I was transferred from Dufil Prima Surulere to Dufil Prima at Akinyemi, Ringroad, Ibadan. My course of study (part-time) was Accounting. From work, I’d put on my reflective jacket from Dufil Prima to School. My friends seeing it on me would be calling me “Indomie”. That’s how the name stuck. Even when I joined Opay, the Okada men were calling me that.

When did you hear about SafeBoda?

In late 2019 when Opay started having problems. When Opay came to Ibadan, I picked an interest in them because I have always liked the automobile industry. I’ve never been a street Okada rider before so when Opay packed up, the fear of having to go to the streets made me join SafeBoda.

When did you join SafeBoda?

SB 068 on his Bike

I started on March 2, 2020. I was like a fluctuating Rider because I needed to understand the work before committing fully.

When were you told of your appointment as a Staff?

Nov 20th or Nov 25th, 2020.

How did it feel?

It was funny to me. The first offer I got was from Daniel (Team lead, Recruitment — Operations). He said, “Indomie, can you be part of our recruitment team?” I said “Okay, no problem” because I usually work with time as a Rider. I start my SafeBoda work in the afternoons cause I have a blog I write on and also a Youtube channel I release educative videos on at night so I sleep late and wake up late in the mornings. I decided to test it one time and after I did the first recruitment, I said I was never going to do it again.

A week later, I got a call from Ope (Manager — Operations) to come in for a chat, I told him my time was precious and I couldn’t just come in at any time. He told me to set a time but that didn’t really work out. Some days later, Babajide (Country Director) called me and said we should have a talk when he is in Ibadan. One day while I went to drop a staff at the Training facility, Babajide called Ope and me to the side and said that Ope would like to talk to me about offering me a staff position at SafeBoda. In my mind, I laughed like, “Do you know how much I’m making as a Rider? How much will you pay me as staff?” Plus being a Rider means I have my time to myself. So, I told Babajide to give me an ultimatum and I’ll get back to him. That was on a Thursday. Ope told me to have an answer ready by Monday.

So I spoke to some Riders I usually get advice from like SB 012 who told me to take the offer. I also spoke to my Grand mum (I’m closer to her than my mum). So myself, my parents, and Grandma all prayed and we got the same leading. My mum then called me and said even if the offer I get is less than what I make as an Okada Rider, there is room for growth in a structured place so I should still take the job.

When I got the letter from Adeola (Human Resources), I had to call Ope to ask him if that offer was really for me because the salary was looking like an armed robber’s salary. (laughs). I never for once thought that a company in Ibadan can pay that much. So I called my girl and told her. She was so happy.

Ah ahn…you called your girl?

(laughs) Yes na. She was at the office party sef. So, I called her (cause she has been there through all the ups and downs) and said, “every month now with the power I’m having, I’ll be giving you 5000 naira to do anything you want.”

How was it like when you resumed?

When I joined, I asked Ope what the company wanted from me and He said, he wants me to be the face of the company to the Riders. He said SafeBoda has seen how I always intervene in Riders’ matters (long before I joined SafeBoda) and wants me to be doing that for the company.

What has the experience been like for you?

Well, the experience has been different. In my former place of work, I worked as a field staff and I was used to doing things by myself if the company was not in the place to make it happen at that time. For instance, on the day of the last Double Bonus Friday, Khalid (Creative Lead- Marketing) had not sent the new flyer so I erased the date on the old one and used it. Faithful ( Supervisor- Operations) had to call me and say, that’s not how things are done and he helped to shape my understanding.

Also, the issue of not using “Sir (according respect using titles) when addressing my superiors is something I struggle with.

On Sunday, Babajide was watching a match at House 25 so I went to join him with my girlfriend and I called him “Babajide”, my girlfriend was like “Ah! Agbalagba”. Like, he’s your Oga and you’re calling him by his name. Even the way I call Faithful, Ope and Olu G by their names shocked her. Sometimes before I greet Babajide for instance, I have to think about how it will sound calling him by name.

So you’re still struggling with it?

Yeah. But this will be my third month here so I know that gradually, I will overcome.

Do you think not using titles at the office is a good thing or a bad thing?

Well, everything lies on policy but our elders will say ”You give respect to whom respect is due”. Even if you call that person by name, you know that there is a way you’ll call that person that they’ll know that the respect is still there.

What was the one thing that stood out for you at the Company that made you decide to stay with SafeBoda?

Before I became a Staff, I’ve always been telling Babajide either on Whatsapp or face to face that the day SafeBoda removes Per km base fare, the day it turns to how Opay used to give estimates without minding what would happen along the way, that’s the day I’ll leave SafeBoda.

So it’s the per km base fare that got you attracted?

Yes. Because with that, I can plan the type of trips I want to take.

What attracted you as an Employee?

What stands the company out for me as an Employee is that by the 1st of March, 2021, the company will hit one year of commercial operations. Even Almighty Opay only lasted for 5, 6 months. This shows that the company has plans for the future.

From what I’m seeing, although growing up won’t be easy but If the company continues at the pace they’re going, the company won’t go into extinction.

Do you have any advice for the company?

Staff welfare. I don’t think there is Staff welfare

Staff Welfare in what sense?

I’m in charge of Rider welfare and I know the kind of policy I drafted for them. From the offer letter I got, I think outside of HMO, the company can do better with supporting staff when they have one celebration or event like weddings, naming ceremonies, and the like. The other things like food and transport allowance, o wa standard. O po gan.

Then for the Riders, I always tell Ope and Babajide that I know it’s not all the requests Riders make that the company will concur to but the Riders still need to be heard.

This has been a beautiful discussion. Thank you for your time.

Thank you too.

--

--

Seyi from SafeBoda
SafeBoda Nigeria

SafeBoda provides a safer motorcycle taxi experience in Nigeria.