Mental Health matters

HOW I PRESERVE MY MENTAL HEALTH IN THESE COVID TIMES.

Ntongha Ekot
SafeBoda Nigeria
3 min readJul 23, 2020

--

One thing that was drummed over and over at the start of the Covid-19 awareness in the Country was Mental Health.

Talks about preserving your space and all were repeated and I must say, it did come in handy.

Now, I want to share what has worked for me in this season:

  1. Exercising

I picked up running and I must say, it has been amazing. It gives you a sense of control in a world that seems to be turned on its head. When I run, the only person I have to conquer is my mind as I bend my body to my will. It’s amazing, really.

2. Detox: We’ve been dealing with the pandemic and many other gory news on Social media. It can get overwhelming. I experienced this and I shut down for a bit. I took some time off to get my head right. Too much bad news isn’t good for you, you know. It toxifies your system. If you’re overwhelmed by news in the media, take some time off. Your peace is important.

3. Eat well and drink lots of water: I can’t stress this enough. I drink about 10–15 sachets of water every day. I tell people that drinking water is my hobby. (lol) but really, drinking water does a lot of good to your system. Eating right also. Ditch the junk food for whole and nourishing food. Your body will thank you, even more so as we need to keep our strength up in this time.

4. Do things you love: This could be reading books, listening to music, watching movies, taking walks. Spend time doing those things that bring you joy. Life is short and as we’re reminded of that, let’s spend time making memories and doing things that actually make us happy.

5. Talk to Someone: No one is an island. If you’re overwhelmed or just tired, talk to someone. Could be friends, family, a colleague, a therapist. Anyone, really. Just don’t try to go it alone. Reach out so someone can hold your hand as you navigate life.

6. Sleep

I really cannot emphasize this enough. Sleep o, because person dey die. You need to get adequate rest so you don’t collapse one day. Remember, no one is indispensable so as much as you work, try to rest as well.

There you have it, Six ways to preserve your mental space this period. There are more out there (surely) but here’s as good a start as any.

Stay conscious, stay hopeful, stay safe. God no go shame us.

--

--