Meet David, Our Nakawa Vendor

SafeBoda
SafeBoda
Published in
2 min readJul 8, 2020

Meet David, our Nakawa local market vendor, dealing in fruits and vegetables. Charismatic, ambitious and determined, we caught up with David for a quick chat about what it’s been like to be a small business vendor trying to survive during COVID-19, the impact that being a SafeBoda vendor has had on his business and the big dreams he has for the future.

On business pre-lockdown

Business was good before lockdown. I was selling here in the market and making deliveries to a few long term clients in offices.

On business during lockdown

It was tough. People could not come to the market and boda bodas were overcharging clients making them buy less.

On getting onto the SafeBoda app as a vendor

I got onto the app because my customers had reduced. I knew I would find customers on the app and I could tell my customers to use the app for cheaper transport. Both me and my customers would benefit because they could then buy more.

On the impact of the SafeBoda app on his business

It has increased the number of customers I have. Even when I have few customers, it is usually the SafeBoda customers ordering. This has increased the money I make. Of Course like everything there are a few things that can be improved but all in all it has helped me alot.

On the future of his business

I want my business to go fully online. I want to expand and even ship abroad.

To support David, order from Nakawa market on the SafeBoda app. To order:

  • Click this link to download the SafeBoda app > https://link.safeboda.com/klaflashsale
  • Open app and tap Food/Shop menu
  • Tap Shops at the top-right of the screen and search for Markets
  • Select items and place order
  • Track order and we will deliver right where you are

--

--

SafeBoda
SafeBoda

Uganda’s super app, on a mission to empower communities to thrive. 👉🏾Order Rides. 👉🏾Make Payments. 👉🏾Send Packages.