2 States Book Review

Saimadhu Polamuri
saimadhu-writings
Published in
5 min readJun 2, 2019

Chetan Bhagat 2 States Book Review by Saimadhu Polamuri

2 States book review by Saimadhu Polamuri

I reached Visakhapatnam Airport (VTZ) paid 258 rs to the Uber cab driver and asked him to take rest for few hours as he was so delighted to show me the accident experience in the ride of 13 kilometres. Which is from Vishakhapatnam bus stand to airport.

He said, “sorry” in a low tone by not making eye contact. “It’s OK Bro,” I said, just to make him feel normal. He has given a shy smile and left.

The arrival gates were closed, and all the passengers are waiting outside. “Generally the gates will open at 5:00 AM,” said the enquire staff.

My mobile started buzzing, without seeing the watch I know the time is 4:00 AM and the call is from my mother.

“Reached airport or not,” my mother said, I haven’t find drowsiness in her voice which signifies she is waiting to make this call.

“Yes, Just now,” I said. My mother instantly responded saying, “then why don’t you send me the message, I told you to send me the message once you reached the airport.” Time is not a limitation for mothers to debate with their sons.

“Who asked you to call me now, I said I will send you the message once I reached the airport. Now go back to sleep”.

“But you haven’t sent the message,” she said, I am sure she missed the last sentence I vocalized (Now go back to sleep)

“Will you come to Bangalore or stay in Vizag .” She changed her tone while saying it. When it comes to teasing sons, mothers are always one step ahead. “I am not pilot to pilot’s the flight, I need to wait 3 more hours. 7:30 AM is the flight departures time”. I said in an irritating tone.

“OK sleep for some time don’t read any book” saying this, my mother disengaged the call. Sometimes even my mother says not do a thing, I feel she is giving a suggestion to do it.

I have two books in my backpack, The perfect us and the other one is 2 States. Randomly pick one book and will start reading it, I said to myself.

I randomly selected the Chetan Bhagat 2 States book. Dimension wise I clearly know how to pick the 2 states book from my backpack. All these randomly pick drama is to give reason to my mind Why I have selected the 2 States book even though I read it long back and The perfect us book half way to finish.

I started reading the synopsis of the book, which found at back side of the book.

Love marriages around the world are simple.

Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.They get married.

In India, there are a few more steps:

Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.

Girl’s family has to love boy. Boy’s family has to love girl.

Girl’s family has to love boy’s family. Boy’s family has to love girl’s family.

Girl and boy still love each other. They get married.

Welcome to 2 States, the story of Krish and Ananya.

The story beings from Krish character who ended up sitting in front of Psychotherapist Dr. Neeta Iyer. After completing the first stage questionnaires, she feels It’s better to know Krish story as he was in a deep depression.

Krish who believes If you close the door and spend 8 to 10 hours in a day with CAT books for 3 months, you will end up in IIM’s. His dream is to become a writer one day. He joined IIM (Indian Institute of Management) Ahmedabad to complete his MBA program. Where he meets Ananya. Krish is from Punjab and Ananya is from Chennai.

In a high-level Krish is from North India and Ananya is from South India.

Somehow both end up in love. Krish feels it’s the end of the story, but he is not aware of the fact that the real story about to begin.

The rest of the story is all about how Krish convinced Ananya parents and Ananay convinced Krish parents. At the end, how both Ananya and Krish parents convinced each other and agreed to show the green symbol for marriage.

The book explains the lifestyles of north Indians and south Indians more profoundly. How the same thing viewed differently in both these parts of India.

In Short:

The book is all about how Krish and Ananya have taken love to the next level. How they convinced their parents and got married.

Rating: 4.0 (Out of 5)

The book ends with the below paragraph.

“You are from two different states, right? So, what will be their state? the nurse said and chukled. ‘They’ll be from a state called India” says Krish.

After reading the book, irrespective of the love story and how they get married, I felt if all the young people marry outside their community, it is perfect for our country future.

Below are highlights I marked while reading the book.

  1. Even though I pretended to be fine with the “Just friends” thing, it was killing me.
  2. You girls don’t know what it is like to be a guy.
  3. When a woman comes into your life, things organise themselves.
  4. The word future and females is a dangerous combination.
  5. In customer service you need to smile more than a toothpaste model.
  6. Jealousy is a rather enjoyable emotion to watch.
  7. What is life without being disturbed by the right people.
  8. There is no better source of wisdom than two drunk men.
  9. People close to you have the power to disturb you the most.
  10. The funny thing about sleep is you can’t instruct it to happen.
  11. What would the world be without mothers.
  12. I love her, we make each other happy. But if our happiness makes so many people unhappy, is it the right thing to do.
  13. Forgiving doesn’t make the person who hurt you feel better, it makes you feel better.
  14. Sometimes in life you just meet someone or her something that nudges you on the right path. And that becomes the best advice.
  15. Sometimes, love is tested in strange ways.
  16. I am a bit of pyscho, but I didn’t want to make it official.
  17. The world’s most sensible person and the biggest idiot both stay within us. The worst part is, you can’t even tell who is who.
  18. Everyone is a pyscho, and the average of all psychos is what we call normal.

--

--