Women in tech: We need more!

Emilia Trendafilova
Sainsbury’s Tech Engineering
5 min readMay 26, 2023
Photo by Nick Ismail at Infomation Age

There are an increasing number of us in the tech and digital sector, but it stubbornly remains a male-dominated industry. Asked to picture a software developer working away at a busy desk, the vast majority of our population would still envisage a man in front of a screen and not a woman.
Very often, if you are at any position in the IT sphere, you might find yourself the only woman in the group. But things are about to change.

When I was about seven, I saw my dad playing what I thought was a really cool PC game called Doom — not so impressive now, but back then, it certainly was! Games are part of my life even today. They helped me learn English terms, even metaphors in some. A little bit like cartoon movies. We tend to understand them way more when we are older.
I wasn’t just interested in the game and watching my dad play. I was interested in the amazing technology behind Doom and other computer games. I wanted to understand the technology that could be used by millions of people — like my dad — around the world. I would also enjoy looking at my dad building PCs from scratch and thinking how the motherboard looks like a little city map with buildings.

Source: Google

My interest was inevitable as both my parents are software engineers, so I was quite used to tech talk, and I shared their passion for computers from a very early age.

I laid my foundations for IT while studying in high school in my hometown, Sofia. At the time, it was lessons on creating websites using html and css, or designing a game like Tetris or Snake. Later on, I came to the UK, and I did my BSc (Hons) in Computer and Networking Technologies at Northumbria University, where men made up a very large proportion of my classes. I found this quite surprising because of my background and upbringing, I’d never considered the possibility that studying any form of technology was a male subject. The gender imbalance in tech was visible at university and later in the workplace.

Later, when I did my MSc in Cloud Computing at another University, I was the only woman in my class, which always felt a bit strange and unsettling. But it never stopped me from achieving my goals.

In those years of study, I learnt alongside some fantastic people. However, on occasion, opinions were shared in my presence, such as, “some women struggle to reach the required standard in technology” and that “women can get preferential treatment and achieve things easier for being a minority in the sector”. Even phrases like: “Women engineers are like women drivers -they don’t exist”. I have heard comments based on my looks, and even at times, I had to show my student ID as proof of being a computer science student. In reality, neither of these things were true, and I was keen to demonstrate the exact opposite.

I have worked in places where I have been the victim of harassment or ignored just because I am a woman. I was close to changing my career completely. And I am so glad I didn’t because Sainsbury’s opened an entirely new aspect of the tech world to me. All my colleagues I have worked with here have been encouraging, respectful and empowering.

Unfortunately, there aren’t many female engineers in tech, but it’s never been something that has discouraged me or stopped me from pursuing my career goals. Just because there is an imbalance doesn’t mean the experience will be negative. And since I have been working for Sainsbury’s Tech, I have become full of positive thoughts. Sainsbury’s is a place where diversity and inclusion are promoted. I’ve never encountered sexism of any sort in my current workplace, nor have any of my colleagues disrespected my opinion. My work is valued just the same as anyone else’s. It’s important to have some representation. Women are definitely in the minority in the sector, especially among software engineers, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t there. Women can definitely succeed and thrive as developers.

Sadly, many women have had difficulties entering our profession, and many intelligent, bright and ambitious women will have chosen not to work in the sector. Coding looks terrifying at first. But with the right environment and support, great goals and career paths can be achieved.

What we need are more women role models. Women who are good at their job in the tech sector are respected by their colleagues. Women will be living proof that a career in technology is not just for men and that ability is the only thing that matters. In fact, the first world programmer was actually a woman called Ada Lovelace. She detailed applications for the Analytical Engine that relate to how computers are used today. Margaret Hamilton, a computer scientist and systems engineer, helped develop software for Apollo 11, the first space mission that placed humans on the Moon in 1969.

I have also been used as an example for the sister of a really close friend. And I didn’t even realise. She went and studied bachelor’s in Computer Science and later on Masters in Cyber security, which was really unexpected to me as she never came across as interested in the IT sector. When I spoke with her about her choices, she told me that she has been observing me, all the hard work I have achieved and how I didn’t give up regardless of the obstacles. She said I was her role model, and I never even realised it. I am sure she will become great in the future.

Technology is about the future — and that future should be one which will never discriminate or show any sign of gender bias, race bias or anything else. There have been positive changes, but we must all do more.

At Sainsbury’s, the environment is really friendly and encouraging. Diversity is really important and appreciated. It showed me that I am valued as a colleague. The constant encouragement of women and having seminars has helped so many in the business achieve great results.

--

--