Update Release: Version 1.1

Jason Jung
Salary Ninja
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2019

Hello! This will be a quick update but there has been few changes. First, check out the difference from the images below:

BEFORE

Version 1.0 home page

AFTER

Version 1.1 home page

Quite a few changes right? I will highlight a few below.

Main Page

I added the insights section as you can see by Top Salary, Top Job Category, and Top State by Average Salary. Before the site was pretty bare-bone, so I wanted to add a bit more interesting information to the visitors. For example, not surprisingly top job categories were related to doctors and pharmaceutical companies showed up often in the top salary category. Also, I found out that WV (West Virginia) had the top average salary thanks to surgeons. In the future, I want a dedicated INSIGHTS tab where people can search for information like that.

Oh, those information cards you see are clickable!

Advanced Filter

Example of Advanced FIlter

Before you could only search by using a company name or a job title, but now you can search by more categories.

What’s Coming Next

I got sidetracked recently working on AlphaBlitz (I will link it below), but there are numerous things I want to work on.

  1. Updating the database with 2019 data (this is now added as of 2019–11–26).
  2. Adding Insights tab as I mentioned above.
  3. Consider improving the speed of ninja search. I really want to do this, but if it costs too much, it is not practical. If I have enough users and ad revenue, maybe I will one day.

Thank you and hope you have a good one.

Update 2019–11–26

The database is now updated with 2019 data! This process added about 500k new rows of data. Please go check it out.

Links

  • Check my AlphaBlitz video blow.

--

--

Jason Jung
Salary Ninja

SWE/Data Scientist @ Shopify. Alum @ Northwestern and @ UCLA. Creator @ https://salary.ninja. Visit me @ https://jasjung.github.io