Sunflower Fields Forever

Leneai Stuart
Salem State Reports
2 min readOct 3, 2016

Around this time last year I was tutoring an ambitious 17-year-old from Ipswich. The drive was about 30 minutes from my house and I always passed a sunflower field at a small local farm. Admiring my favorite flower, I searched online and found a bigger sunflower field about 45 minutes away, in Newbury, Mass.

Unfortunately, the sunflower field had already gone through its cycle and wouldn’t be fully bloomed until next September. I waited almost a full year for a sunflower field that I suddenly didn’t have time to go see. It bloomed at the exact same time I started a new semester and was in the process of moving. In short, I had a lot going on.

As the sunflowers were wilting away, knowing I desperately wanted to go, we set out one Saturday afternoon. Forget the fact that I had just worked a 6 hour shift at 5am.

Although most of the sunflowers were dying, the field was still full of color. There were some patches that still had sunflowers with a good amount of life left in them, those are the ones I got to capture.

I finally got to visit the sunflower field I was longing to photograph. I was exhausted the whole time but I got the experience and ended up getting some good photos to submit for a project in another class.

A photo I submitted for a color photo class in which my theme was to capture textures.

We spent another hour or so in Newburyport seeing the sights. Before heading home we ate at a delicious Thai restaurant called Brown Sugar by the Sea.

For my entree I had brown sugar mango fried rice which had chicken, shrimp, fresh mango, shredded ginger, onions, and carrots. Topped with roasted almonds, chopped scallions, and coriander.

--

--

Leneai Stuart
Salem State Reports

Journalism, photography, and business student - SSU '17 — Writing about my passions, opinions, & some news.