How Medical Marijuana Helps Me Cope with Anxiety

Alie J
Salem State Reports
4 min readApr 2, 2017
A pill bottle of 3.75 grams of the strain Cannatonic. A high-CBD strain for medical use. Photo: Alexandra Leone

For too long I’ve been fighting demons on my own and to be honest I was tired of it. I became exhausted both physically and mentally. I couldn’t recognize myself and the pity parties only made me feel worse.

Having anxiety has been an ongoing battle for most of my life and no matter how much pot I smoke, or therapy sessions I have, there isn’t going to be a time where I am “fixed.” But there are times when I have control. That’s where this help pays off. Some days are better than others. Sometimes I feel like I can do anything, other days I feel like I want to bury myself in a hole and just stay there.

September 2016 was where I really needed to grab hold on the reins and saddle back up on my horse. I needed to start feeling like me again. At the time, being coached by my therapist wasn’t enough help. I needed something else for the days where I couldn’t calm myself down and take control. During these times, my therapy sessions were fogged up memories, so it was hard to remember coping mechanisms.

I made it clear to my therapist from the start that I didn’t want to resort to medication — I feared that it wasn’t going to help me much because of horror stories I’ve heard. This created more anxiety; so I looked into medical cannabis. I was ignorant about the medical part of marijuana. I didn’t understand the difference between pot from the streets or a dispensary. I didn’t know the advantages medical users have, so I researched.

I spent hours watching “WeedTube” channels on YouTube of people with medical cards and learned what their process was like. I watched documentaries on the science behind it, and read countless articles. I learned a lot. The more educated I got, the more I wanted to get the process started.

When telling my friends about my plan, they were a little uncertain because a lot of time marijuana induces paranoia. When telling my family, they thought it was just a more convenient way to get high.

This brings us to the big question: How does marijuana help anxiety?

What a lot of people don’t know is that marijuana has two compounds, or cannabinoids — tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD). THC is what makes you “stoned.” It is the psychoactive element.

A chart from the Canna Care Docs Patient Handbook explaining the benefits of different cannibinoids.

According to Leafly’s Cannabis 101, cannabis breeders shifted their interest to the medical benefits of CBD and studied their genetics. Both scientists and breeders focused on facilitating high CBD strains by extracting the beneficial compounds that are now hybridized. This was the birth of high-CBD strains.

Cannabis acts as a medicine when consumed because the cannabinoids are passed to receptors known as CB1 and CB2 throughout the brain. These receptors are found throughout the brain and immune system and when activated, they alter the way it functions.

CB1 receptors are responsible for memory, mood, and sleep while CB2 receptors help reduce inflammation. Inflammation can sometimes be a factor of diseases and conditions.

I consulted a doctor at CannaCare Docs in Peabody, Mass. who specializes in cannabis and recommends it as a way of medicating naturally. I had to open up about my anxiety which often leads to depression in a downward spiral.

The appointment consisted of being examined by a nurse; my heart rate and blood pressure were checked like a normal doctor’s visit. Then I met with the doctor.

Dr. Tom Sellers, M.D., said that anxiety is one of the debilitating conditions that medical marijuana can benefit. He educated me on the best strains for anxiety and even showed me the ropes on searching for the right strains at a medical dispensary via the website Leafly.

Personally, I use a high-CBD strain for my anxiety and I use it when needed. I use it to feel medicated, not high, which is exactly what happens.

My usual order at Alternative Therapies Group on 50 Grove St., Salem, Mass. consists of products of the strain called Cannatonic — it is a true medical strain. Recreational users would hate it because it does not get you high.

I usually get an “eight” of Cannatonic bud, which is 3.75 grams of cannabis, and the Cannatonic tincture. Cannatonic is one of the highest CBD strains available in Massachusetts. The tincture is a little bottle of cannabis oil with a built in dropper tool. The oil can be dropped under your tongue or can be put in beverages. I use the tincture on days I don’t want to smoke — it’s a lot more convenient and I don’t have to deal with smell.

Cannatonic medical marijuana and tincture. Photo: Alexandra Leone

After smoking or using the tincture, I feel calm, focused and ready to take on the day. When I am medicated, I can control any slip of anxious thoughts and cope normally. I take it when needed.

Medical cannabis truly is a great companion to help me fight daily battles.

--

--

Alie J
Salem State Reports

My hobbies include indulging in pop culture. My dream job is writing about pop culture.