Advisors and Career Services: Here To Help The Graduating Student

meggsbenedict
Salem State Reports
4 min readNov 7, 2016

Figuring out what to do with the rest of your life right out of high school is one of the most nerve-wracking experiences an adolescent can experience. How are we supposed know what we want to do every day into the foreseeable future at the age of 18?

Being someone who thought she had it all figured out, and who went to school for something as specific as opera singing, I was positive I knew. But, like so many other young graduates, I was wrong and decided to leave my first college to take a year and a half off in order to figure out what I wanted to do. I worked at the Salem Witch Museum while I thought about my options and decided I wanted a different job that led to a career, but when I tried applying to those jobs I found that a bachelors degree was necessary for application.

Fast-forward to fall semester 2016, and I have my associates degree from North Shore Community College in Liberal Arts and will graduate this December with another degree: with a bachelors of sciences in Communications, concentration in journalism, with a double minor in Music and Educational Studies. There is only one problem–once I graduate, what lies ahead?

Graduating from college and taking those first steps into the unknown can be nerve-wracking for even the most prepared students, especially when companies don’t do much hiring in the fourth quarter, or end-of-the year, because of seasonal help and temps. So when graduation happens mid-year, it’s important to have the proper support system provided by your university. Salem State University offers Career Services and advisors to help guide students through that overwhelming and stressful time.

The Career Services staff are available to any Salem State University student, undergraduate and graduate, no matter what year of graduation. This past year the services connected 2,751 students and alumni with one-on-one appointments. The office holds numerous events, like career fairs. Last past year there were 524 various gatherings, with 6,769 student and alumni attendees. The office also partners with local, regional, and national organizations that consider hiring SSU students and alumni. Many visit the career fairs and are also personally connected through alumni.

Many students aren’t aware of the available professional career planning services on campus. Utilizing what Career Services has to offer could be the difference between landing your dream job and settling for the first job that will hire you.

But when push comes to shove and the graduation nerves begin to twinge, Career Services, while a wonderful resource, aren’t as personal or accessible as the advisor SSU provides its students.

Normally a professor in the department of your major or study is assigned to assists students in everything from planning, choosing, and signing up for classes. The advisor is also responsible for writing recommendation letters and proofreading resumes and cover letters.

Salem State University student flow sheets. The colorful sheets help students keep track of their classes and number of credits so they can graduate on time. Photo: Meg Kazan

I’m extremely lucky because I’ve had the pleasure of working with the knowledgable SSU advisor Professor Peg Dillon from the Communications Department. She has helped me with much more than my school schedule. Dillon, who has been advising students for 10 years now, believes that many students don’t just need to know what classes to take, they also need help with stress and other life matters.

“When I first came here I thought we [her and the students] would talk about classes, but no, we talk about so many other things. We talk about what classes to take next, there are a lot of conversations about depression and anxiety,” said Dillon.

Another helpful advisor at SSU is Professor Felix Amato, from the Social Work Department, who currently advises 42 students. According to Amato, one of the normal snafus with graduating mid-year students is the typical “not having enough credits.”

Amato always tells his advisees to check “Degree Tracker” in order to catch the mistake now, that they can take one last course in the winter, spring, or summer session. He also advises students to, if possible, take a break after graduation and figure things out before getting a job, or going back to school.

“If students have the luxury to take a break, collect your thoughts. I went cross-country and it was one of the best experiences of my life. Many people ask why I didn’t go abroad, and I say because I’d like to see my own country first,” Amato explained.

I have been looking forward to graduation for six years now, and I can’t wait to walk across that stage in May. Do I know exactly what I want to do when I don’t have to go back to class in spring semester? No. But am I more prepared because of my advisor and the Career Services at SSU? Yes.

“If I could give advice to any of the mid-year graduating seniors it would be to go to graduation in May. Attend the ceremony. It’s a big deal and worth celebrating, that’s your graduating class,” said Dillon.

Professor Dillon’s office in Salem State University’s Central Campus Bertolon Building. This is where the experienced advisor helps 30 students with their schedules, as well as their lives inside and outside school. Photo: Meg Kazan

--

--

meggsbenedict
Salem State Reports

Communications and Media Consultant. Lover of Brunch. Cat Lady. Social Media Consultant. Singer. Writer. Musician.