Simple tips to pass your PSM1 certification

Kaustubh Labhe
Salesforce, and everything related
3 min readDec 22, 2018

About me: I have been in the IT consulting and development ecosystem since the last 6 ish years and have worked in both Waterfall and Agile environments. I don’t know which one is better and I really don’t like to go in such arguments!! Having used the SCRUM/SCRUM-BAN framework extensively in my last few projects drove me to learn about it more formally and hence I chose to pursue the PSM1 certification designed and awarded by Scrum.org. There are similar certifications offered by other institutions, however I chose this as:
1) The exam is online
2) Study resources are easily available over the internet
3) A classroom training, is not mandatory, even though preferred
4) The exam cost is affordable ($150 as of 2018)
5) The certification is widely accepted

So, even though being an open-book one, its not an easy exam. Some of the questions are quite challenging and scenario based. You would rarely get questions with direct definitions/answers in the Scrum.org guide. This, I think is fair, as the purpose of any certification should be to test execution and application of your acquired knowledge.
Hence, some hands-on experience with using SCRUM will definitely guide you in understanding some of the topics. I understand many orgs do not use pure SCRUM framework these days, hence you need to be a bit mindful around some of the areas. For example, one of my previous clients had a Sprint 0 for architectural decisions and environments management. But SCRUM framework defined by SCRUM.org doesn’t allow a Sprint 0 or any such additional sprints.
Step 1: The first step in your prep is to read the Scrum.org guide over and over again. Even by-heart it for that matter! Its ~20 pages long and written in a very simple & understandable language.
Step 2: Personally, since my school time, I have always been a group-study kind of guy. I think collaborative studying fosters creativity and innovative thinking. Hence I asked my wife if she would like to prepare for this exam with me and she complied. She works as a IT project manager and this knowledge was of a great use to her too. We dedicated an hour or two daily after our work, for at least a couple of weeks to study for the test. We made individual notes which we compared later on and drafted a final version comprising of definitions, use cases, real-life challenges and industry standards. We regularly referred to the SCRUM forum to check what the community thought about a particular topic or issue.
Step 3: After getting completely familiar with the Scrum guide, we decided to take some of the mock tests. I personally recommend only 3 such practice tests available online.
1) The SCRUM open assessment (Link here). This is the official mock test provided by Scrum.org and has 30 questions. Some of the questions are non-repetitive, hence you can re-do the test a multiple times. Do not take the main exam until you start getting 100% in this test.
2) Paid practice tests offered by Volkerdon. The questions in this were really good and scenario based along with explanation and references to the scrum guide.
3) Paid practice tests by MPlaza. I bought the exam simulator package containing approx 400 questions along with their explanations.
Step 4: Repeat step 3 until you start getting 100% in all simulated tests.

Like I said before, earning a certification is never the end of your learning experience. Learning is a continuous process. I am lucky to work in a environment where we constantly challenge each other’s ideas and way of working. Even when it comes to following agile standards. So even if you are certified in a particular subject, always follow whatever works best for your team, and that which gives the best output. And honestly, that is what being truly ‘agile’ is all about.

Happy learning and good luck with your exam.

If you like my article and would like to show your love, you can buy me a coffee ❤ https://www.buymeacoffee.com/kaustubhLabhe

--

--