10 Questions You’ll Be Asked in a UX Interview

Ian Schoen
Salesforce Designer
7 min readJan 27, 2015

--

Notes from a young designer

I just landed my first full-time role as a UX designer and officially closed my job search. After more than 40 coffee dates, phone calls, design presentations and one-on-one interviews, I’ve come up with this list of 10 UX questions that I found crucial in my search. As a young designer breaking into the field, the world of design interviewing was foreign to me. I hope this can help others in the interview process and be a prompt to advance personal design perspectives.

The Questions (and notes):

1. How do you define UX/design?

Focus on crafting a unique and specific definition that sheds light on who you are as a designer. Use this also as an opportunity to tell a story that provides context for your design perspective. However you define UX, make this a chance to add something personal.

I focused my definition around empathy and the importance of understanding the people I’m designing for. It allowed me to touch on my background in psychology, allude to past experiences I had doing anthropological research, and brought to light the importance of designing human-centered experiences.

2. What is your design process?

--

--